Damien Fontaine

Damien Fontaine is a composer and director who defines himself as a "sound and light sculptor". He adopts a unique narrative approach in which music sets the pace of his shows, which he considers to be short films. He enjoys "stroking ancient stones" and working in "places filled with history". The artist seeks to create a moment of escape for his public using images, enabling spectators to revert to seeing the world through the eyes of a child. Damien Fontaine has created stage designs the world over, and in Bucharest in 2014, won Europe's largest monument protection competition.

http://www.damienfontaine.com/


By the same artist

Reflets (2018)

Fourvière Hill, Lyon 5

This immersive project with echoes of surrealism brings the memories hidden deep in the river Saône to the surface. As its title Reflets implies, the river’s multi-hued reflections  illuminate the facades along the quai Romain Rolland while its babbling gets louder. Gradually, fragments of local history, still alive in our memories or long dead, start to mingle with the colourful sounds emerging from the streets. Abstract relics of the past are projected on the buildings stretching from the Palais de Justice to Saint-Jean Cathedral. Then it is the turn of the hill and the basilica to reveal their colours, one impressionist brushstroke at a time - a becalming contrast to the jazzy graphics along the river banks - before being sucked beneath the surface of the river.  

Balāha (2017)

Balāha, freely based on a Hindu legend, tells the story of a magical horse that escapes from starry vaults. Impetuous and curious, it looms up from the theatre seating area, drawing the spectators into its wake. Its gallops of light span the eras, covering the immense expanses of the Earth. They unveil the rich imagery of the world of horses, from the very first cave drawings to the iconic Trojan horse battering the theatre seating with its hooves. Once it has finally been tamed, the animal takes on the form of Louis XIV's horse as featured in the Place Bellecour, before joining the stars in a dazzling finale. This attraction transfigures this ancient site, combining illusion and poetry.

 

Night of Dreams (2014)

Place Bellecour, Lyon 2

On the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the disappearance of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, follow the imaginary adventures of little Tonio through a magnificent fresco combining music, large images, special effects and gigantic decors. Perched on his winged bicycle, the hero will take you along on his dream of escape to the sky in search of faraway horizons.

With the support of the Antoine de Saint-Exupéry - d'Agay estate

The Prince of Lights (2013)

For the 2013 edition of the Fête des Lumières, the Place des Terraux becomes a theatre of a fantastic saga. The façades swing and sway as our young hero passes by, chasing the light swallowers. Along the winding roads of far-away lands, you will see him appear – first as a tiny dot among colossal insects and tentacular plants, then as a giant among the stars. « The Prince of Lights » wins the Trophée France 3.

Played again at : 
Dubaï festival of lights 2014 

The Chrysalises of Saint-Jean (2012)

In a seismic display of light, the Romanesque building reveals its priceless jewels which are usually hidden from the public gaze. The cathedral is prey to strange convulsions as it is constantly shaken, stripped and rebuilt. How do you unravel reality from hallucination in this succession of apparitions? Statues and gargoyles come to life and medieval sculptures hidden from sight for centuries in the Manécanterie treasure house transform the facade. A mysterious ivory coffer suddenly appears in full light or the brightly coloured rose windows. Draperies seem to shroud the building and its immobile stone statues. Through these “visual chrysalises” the cathedral reveals almost all of its secrets.

Night Flights (2010)

Bâtiment TNT, Lyon 7

Damien Fontaine imagines with this work an artistic and technical concept linked to the impressive building of TNT. On the façade, we can follow a night journey of a package to Lyon. A series of giant video projection takes place on the two main façades.

Project TNT

Damien Fontaine

Compositeur et metteur en scène, Damien Fontaine se définit comme sculpteur de son et de lumière. Dans son approche narrative, la musicalité dicte le rythme de ses spectacles, envisagés comme des courts-métrages. L’ancien chef d’orchestre, compositeur a conçu des scénographies dans le monde entier et a notamment remporté, à Bucarest, en 2014, le plus grand concours de projection monumentale d’Europe. Pour cet amoureux des vieilles pierres et des lieux chargés d’histoire, chaque nouveau projet offre au public un moment d’évasion, où le spectateur retrouve son regard d’enfant.

http://www.damienfontaine.com


Toutes les oeuvres

Reflets (2018)

Ce projet immersif fait resurgir les souvenirs que la Saône charrie en elle. Alors que la rivière illumine de ses reflets colorés les façades des quais Romain Rolland, son murmure enfle peu à peu. Au gré des eaux, les bribes de l’histoire lyonnaise, contemporaines ou disparues, se mélangent aux pigments sonores glanés au hasard des rues. En fragments abstraits les reliques du passé sont projetées du Palais de justice à la Cathédrale Saint-Jean. Puis, la colline et la basilique répliquent à l’effervescence graphique des quais, par un déferlement de touches impressionnistes, avant de glisser à leur tour dans les remous de la Saône. Une balade exploratoire aux frontières du surréalisme.

Balāha (2017)

Balāha, inspiré librement d’une légende hindoue, raconte l’histoire d’un cheval magique qui s'échappe des voûtes étoilées. Surgi des gradins du théâtre, impétueux et curieux, il entraîne les spectateurs dans son sillage. Ses galops de lumière enjambent les époques et parcourent les étendues infinies du monde. Ils nous dévoilent la riche imagerie liée à l’univers équestre, depuis les peintures rupestres, jusqu’à l'emblématique cheval de Troie assaillant de ses coups de boutoir les gradins du théâtre. Finalement dompté, l’animal prend l’aspect du cheval de Louis XIV place Bellecour. Il rejoint les constellations, dans un final éblouissant. Un spectacle qui mêle illusion et poésie, transfigurant ce site millénaire.

 

Rêves de Nuit (2014)

Place Bellecour, Lyon 2

A l’occasion des 70 ans de la disparition d’Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, laissez-vous entraîner dans les aventures imaginaires du petit Tonio à travers une grande fresque mêlant musique, grandes images, effets spéciaux et décors géants. Juché sur sa bicyclette ailée, le héros vous emmène dans ses rêves d’échappées vers le ciel et en quête de lointains horizons.

Avec le soutien de la Succession Antoine de Saint-Exupéry - d’Agay

Le Prince des Lumières (2013)

Pour l’édition 2013 de la Fête des Lumières, la Place des Terreaux devient le théâtre d’une épopée fantastique. La planète incroyablement brillante du Prince des Lumières, son unique habitant, est plongée dans l’obscurité par les avaleurs de lumière. Le héros part alors sur les traces du trésor dérobé. Les façades des édifices chaloupent et basculent au gré du périple du jeune garçon qui explore les méandres des contrées les plus reculées sur le dos d’un insecte géant, au milieu de plantes tentaculaires, ou en plein ciel étoilé. Cette œuvre remporte le Trophée France 3.

Et après la Fête des Lumières :
Dubaï festival of lights 2014

Les Chrysalides de Saint-Jean (2012)

Dans un véritable séisme de lumière, l’édifice Renaissance révèle d’inestimables joyaux, habituellement dissimulés aux yeux du public. La cathédrale est en proie à d’étranges convulsions visuelles qui viennent la bousculer, l’écorcher, la remodeler et la réinventer sans cesse. Dans cette succession d’apparitions de statues, gravures moyenâgeuses ou coffret en ivoire, il est difficile de démêler réalité et visions hallucinatoires.

Vols de Nuit (2010)

Bâtiment TNT, Lyon 7

L’artiste imagine ici un concept artistique et technique résolument enraciné autour de l’imposant bâtiment de TNT. Ce dernier fait à merveille office de toile de projection sur laquelle on peut suivre le voyage nocturne d’un colis à destination de Lyon. Ainsi, les deux façades principales deviennent-elles le support de projections vidéographiques géantes.

Projet TNT