Encor Studio

Encor studio – founded by Mirko Eremita, David Houncheringer, Manuel Oberholzer and Valerio Spoletini in 2015 – blends architecture, maths and sound vibrations. The Swiss collective conjugates reflections and light waves to explore the foundations of graphic art, playing with the public’s perception in its immersive, evolving artworks based on scenography, photography, music and mapping. Their projects, on the margins of contemporary art, explore the many facets of light. In 2019, they are presenting Trapped which lays bare the man vs machine dichotomy reflecting their fascination with the way technology has encroached on every aspect of our lives.

http://www.encor.studio/


By the same artist

Trapped (2019)

Place Rambaud, Lyon 1

On Place Gabriel Rambaud, an industrial robot is enclosed in a confined space like a caged lion. A robotic arm which seems to have escaped from an assembly line moves around under a smoke-filled dome. The sightless machine has sensors which pick up sounds from the public; it seems to be seeking to establish contact. The robot is programmed to detect human presence and moves towards the onlookers when it senses noise or vibrations. Now it is up to the spectator to tame the fantastic metal beast. This interactive installation shows that artificial intelligence has given machines a human dimension and makes us think about how we react when faced with phenomena beyond our comprehension.

Polyfolies / Frontier (2018)

The Fondation Bullukian is showcasing two installations:

1- Polyfolies

Meriem Benkirane’s installation is composed of large, thin petals of doctored plexiglass which cast shadows and moving reflections. This artwork takes the visitor into the very heart of matter.

Artist: Meriem Benkirane
Production: Confluence Institute & Fondation Bullukian

Technical support: la communauté lumière iGuzzini

2- Frontier

Light waves and sound vibrations disturb the calm of the untouched, reflective surface of a pond. The changing scenario plays on transforming reality to offer a unique representation with each loop. Depending on ambient sounds and submerged objects, the work becomes an integral part of the site and creates a dialogue with the public and its environment. Through a physical and graphic narrative, it plays on the notion of a frontier between water and earth. This is an immersive audiovisual installation where light, water, waves and… the public answer each other's echoes on an acoustic and visual journey.

Artists: Encor Studio
Production: Mirage Festival
Technical support: Swiss Consulate in Lyon; Canton of Neuchâtel;  Pro Helvetia; Case à Chocs Neuchâtel

Encor studio

Scénographie, photographie, musique ou mapping, le studio Encor fondé par Mirko Eremita, David Houncheringer, Manuel Oberholzer & Valerio Spoletini en 2015, croise architecture, mathématiques et vibrations sonores. Ce collectif suisse explore les fondements de l’art graphique à travers les réflexions, les ondes et la lumière et joue sur la notion de perception pour créer des pièces immersives et évolutives. Chaque projet, aux frontières de l’art contemporain, amène l’esprit à percevoir l’œuvre dans sa globalité temporelle, de ses origines à sa finalité, avec la lumière pour fil rouge. Repéré par le Mirage Festival, Encor signe en 2018 sa première participation à la Fête des Lumières.

http://www.encor.studio/


Toutes les oeuvres

Polyfolies / Frontier (2018)

Après de nombreux mois de travaux, la Fondation Bullukian dévoile ses nouveaux espaces en inaugurant un Centre d’art et de sciences proposant au quotidien de nombreux événements dans un esprit de découverte et de transdisciplinarité.

Pour la Fête des Lumières, la Fondation Bullukian accueille deux projets inédits : Côté cour, lieu dédié à l’émergence et à la découverte de futurs talents, elle accueille une installation lumineuse créée par une étudiante de l’Ecole d’architecture Confluence Institute. Côté jardin, c’est le collectif Encor studio qui est mis à l’honneur avec un projet indépendant, croisant architecture, lumière et vibrations sonores.

1- Polyfolies

polyfolies_chaulet.jpg

Après avoir passé le portail de la fondation, la cour s’illumine. Se crée alors l’environnement enchanteur de Polyfolies.
De larges pétales de plexiglass moulés, déformés, démultipliés flottent et diluent la lumière devenant l’acteur premier de cette installation. Mouvants, les reflets des pétales vibrent et ondulent sur le sol et les façades. Cette atmosphère mystérieuse nous enveloppe et fait interagir nos propres ombres avec les oscillations lumineuses. Destinée autrefois à mettre en scène ses occupants, la cour agissait comme un décor de théâtre et un lieu de représentation. Sublimer l’environnement, façonner la réalité et créer une atmosphère où nos émotions puissent s’enflammer, c’est ce que propose le projet immersif Polyfolies.

Artiste : Meriem Benkirane
Production : Confluence Institute et la Fondation Bullukian
Avec le soutien de la communauté lumière iGuzzini

©Photo : Muriel Chaulet
 

2- Frontier

frontier_dimier_02.jpg

Ondes lumineuses et vibrations sonores perturbent la quiétude de la surface vierge et réfléchissante d’un bassin aquatique. Le scénario évolutif joue sur la déformation de la réalité pour offrir, à chaque nouvelle boucle, une représentation unique. Dépendant des sons ambiants et des objets immergés, l’œuvre fait partie intégrante de l’espace et dialogue avec le public et son environnement. Par une narration physique et graphique, elle joue sur la notion de frontière entre eaux et terres. Une installation audiovisuelle immersive où lumière, eau, ondes et… public se répondent en écho pour un voyage sonore et visuel.

Artistes : Encor Studio
Production : Mirage Festival
Avec le soutien du Consulat Général de Suisse à Lyon ; Canton de Neuchâtel ; Pro Helvetia
 ; Case à Chocs Neuchâtel

©Photo : Fabrice Dimier