Pierre De Mecquenem

Throughout his career, Pierre de Mecquenem has collaborated with a number of companies (Les Commandos Percu, Le Clan des Songes, Fêtes et Feux, Royal de Luxe). He began to work with Compagnie La Machine in 2001. Passionately interested in fire and the art of stoking it, he made a breakthrough in 2007 with the creation of "Flames". This show was designed for La Machine, with the support of Le Channel, a national theater in Calais, for the 2007 edition of "Winter Fires". Since then, "Flames" has been presented on numerous occasions in various ways to adapt it to different contexts. In 2009, he created "La Kermesse", a collective work created at the Nantes workshop and also co-produced by Le Channel.

As a surveyor and scenographer of the city, Pierre de Mecquenem aims to transform public areas into places of festive gathering through the staging of fire displays and the creation of items of urban furniture. Based on exploring the themes of fire and movement, his work develops a meditation on the urban environment and hospitality.


By the same artist

Flames (2013)

Lighted by the flickering flames of hundreds of candles and candelabras, Place Nautique invites you to enjoy a moment of meditation and warmth on a wintry night. Each evening, in the company of artists, you will discover this emerging neighborhood in a new way as you stroll among these fiery installations, which will be accented with sound effects and give off different types of sparks.

Pierre De Mecquenem

Pierre de Mecquenem a un parcours jalonné de collaborations avec plusieurs compagnies (Les Commandos Percu, Le Clan des Songes, Fêtes et Feux, Royal de Luxe). Il commence à travailler avec la Compagnie La Machine à partir de 2001. Passionné par le feu et l'art de tisonner, il franchit en 2007 une nouvelle étape en créant au sein de La Machine son spectacle « Flammes », avec le soutien du Channel, scène nationale de Calais, pour l’édition de « Feux d’Hiver » 2007. « Flammes » a depuis été décliné à de nombreuses occasions afin de s’adapter à différents contextes. En 2009, est créée « La Kermesse », œuvre collective réalisée au sein de l’atelier de Nantes, également coproduite par Le Channel.

Arpenteur et scénographe de la ville, Pierre de Mecquenem s’attache à transformer des lieux publics en espaces de convivialité grâce à un travail de mise en scène du feu et de création d’objets de mobilier urbain. A partir d’une recherche autour des thèmes du feu et du mouvement, son travail développe une réflexion sur l’urbanité et l’hospitalité.


Toutes les oeuvres

Flammes (2013)

Darse Nautique, Lyon 2

La place nautique, éclairée par les flammes vacillantes de centaines de bougies et de candélabres, invite à une pause contemplative et chaleureuse dans la nuit hivernale. Chaque soir, en compagnie des artistes, découvrez ce quartier en développement avec un regard inédit, lors d’une déambulation à travers ces installations de feu, ponctuée de moments sonores et d’étincelles variées.