Theoriz Studio

Theoriz is a creative studio staffed by a team of engineers, artists and experienced coders. They design immersive installations and audiovisual shows combining projection, video, mapping, robotics and augmented reality. Based in Lyon, they have been regular contributors to the Festival of Lights since 2011. Inspired by the creations of Refik Anadol and Daito Manabe, the team explores ingenious new forms of digital art blurring reality and virtuality in their immersive works. In 2019, Theoriz Studio will be projecting a high-tech fresco on the façade of Saint Jean Cathedral.

www.theoriz.com 


By the same artist

Genesis (2019)

Taking St Jean Cathedral as their canvas, THÉORIZ Studio have been working for several years to design special tools capable of generating visual effects to bring out the full glory of its architecture.
The studio is responding to the dramatic climate crisis that we face by retelling the story of the origins of the world in sound and vision.  From the creation of the stars to the emergence of water, from the growth of plant life to the arrival of the first animals, from the birth of humanity to the advent of transport, from the industrial revolution to big data... the studio takes us through a series of tableaux right up to today's digital era. This spectacular light show looks back to the genesis of mankind and forward to our unknown future. 


►How to get to Saint-Jean:

acces-saint-jean_fdl.jpg

Crystallized (2016)

Crystallized is an astonishing metal sculpture, animated with acoustic effects and holographic videos. In the setting of the Cour Renaissance in Musées Gadagne, let yourself be enchanted by the permanent movement of this mysterious work, inspired by the chemical element of bismuth and the physical laws of light.

Musician: Tristan Spella (aka Mat3r Dolorosa)
Visuals: Victor Drapeau, Jonathan Richer, David Chanel
Construction: Julien Aubry, Yves Richer, La main Collectif
Architect: Stefano Santalato

With the support of the Association des commerçants du cours Gambetta, la direction de l'Economie, du Commerce et de l' Artisanat, la Région Rhône-Alpes fonds [SCAN], La Main Collectif. With the assistance of the DRAC Rhône-Alpes and Jarring Effect. With thanks to Alteréaliste.

From 8 p.m. to midnight, from 8 to 10 December.
Special extension:
 evenings throughout December, from Wednesday to Friday, 5.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m. and on Saturday, 17 December.

Cinematographic Journey (2014)

Perrache Vaults, Lyon 2

Go back to the early days of cinema with a setting that evokes the late nineteenth century.  In the footsteps of an imaginary character and through a number of film extracts, this journey will show you the major milestones in the cinematic adventure and give you an idea of its future.

Cross the Christmas Market on the west (Saône) side toward Perrache Station and enter under the vaults

Draw me… lights (2013)

For the first time since its creation, the mural of famous Lyon residents comes to life! Through the magic of a monumental projection, these celebrities take you on a dreamlike journey through different epochs and universes – back to the time of the first film by the Lumière brothers, through the Little Prince's starry sky and along with Guignol to meet marionettes from around the world.

Living walls (2012)

A method for making walls speak. « Living walls » is a fun, interactive sound and video installation. Following in the footsteps of « Pacmanize Me », presented in 2011, the Théoriz Crew collective continues to explore the potential for dialogue between human beings and urban architecture. Movement sensors allow the Alliance Française building on the Place Bahadourian to reveal its feelings: the walls come to life.

Pacmanize me (2011)

« PACMAN », the famous video game of the eighties, is invited onto a 220 m² building façade for an interactive video game performance. Your body becomes a joystick, allowing you to control your avatar. Place Sainte-Anne is metamorphosed into a vast playground where the only rule is having fun!

Theoriz Studio

Studio de création d’art et technologie, THÉORIZ Studio réunit une équipe d’ingénieurs, d’artistes et de codeurs émérites. Concepteurs d'installations immersives et de spectacles audiovisuels, leurs créations spectaculaires font se côtoyer projection, vidéo, mapping, robotique et réalité augmentée. Depuis leur première Fête des Lumières en 2011, les Lyonnais n’ont cessé d’explorer les arts numériques pour imaginer de nouvelles expériences immersives. Inspirée des travaux de Refik Anadol ou Daito Manabe, l’équipe du studio combine recherches et innovations, où réel et virtuel se mêlent indistinctement. En 2019, THÉORIZ Studio investit la cathédrale Saint-Jean de son ingénieuse technologie, en une fresque high tech.

► www.theoriz.com


Toutes les oeuvres

Genesis (2019)

THÉORIZ Studio a travaillé plusieurs années sur le développement d’outils spécifiques, capables de générer les effets visuels dédiés à l’architecture de la cathédrale Saint-Jean. Plus que jamais concerné par le futur de notre planète dans un contexte de crise écologique majeure, le studio présente sur l’édifice une création sonore et visuelle sur l’origine du monde. De la création des astres à l’apparition de l’eau, de l’arrivée des végétaux à celle des animaux, de la naissance de l’humanité à l’avènement des transports, de l’industrialisation aux réseaux de données, les tableaux se succèdent jusqu’à l’ère digitale… Cette œuvre magistrale et poétique retrace l’évolution de notre humanité et questionne aussi notre futur.


Accès à Saint-Jean : l'entrée et la sortie se font obligatoirement par l'avenue Adolphe Max

acces-saint-jean_fdl.jpg

Crystallized (2016)

Crystallized est une étonnante sculpture de métal, animée d’effets sonores et de vidéos holographiques. Dans l’écrin de la cour Renaissance des musées Gadagne, laissez-vous envoûter par le mouvement permanent de cette œuvre mystérieuse, inspirée de l’élément chimique du Bismuth et des lois physiques de la lumière.

Musicien : Tristan Spella (aka Mat3r Dolorosa)
Visuels : Victor Drapeau, Jonathan Richer et David Chanel
Construction : Julien Aubry, Yves Richer et La main Collectif
Architecte : Stefano Santalato

Voyage cinématographique (2014)

Remontez aux sources de l’histoire du cinéma, dans un décor évoquant la fin du XIXème siècle.  Sur les traces d’un personnage imaginaire,  et au travers de nombreux extraits de films, cette traversée vous emmène à la découverte des grandes étapes qui ont marqué l’aventure du cinéma, jusqu’à imaginer son futur.

Traverser le marché de Noël côté ouest (Saône) en direction de la gare de Perrache et entrer sous les voûtes

Dessine-moi... des Lumières (2013)

Première projection monumentale pour la Fresque des Lyonnais qui prend vie et retrouve les personnages qui ont marqué l’histoire de la Ville. Ils entraînent le spectateur dans une rêverie fantastique à travers les époques et les univers, au temps du premier film avec les Frères Lumières, dans le ciel étoilé du Petit Prince ou aux côtés de Guignol, à la rencontre des marionnettes du monde.

Murs sensibles (2012)

Suivant les traces de « Pacmanize me » présentée en 2011, le collectif Théoriz Crew continue d’explorer le potentiel dialogue entre les êtres humains et l’architecture urbaine. Rassemblés au cœur de ce vaste espace public, les visiteurs fascinés et amusés, font vivre à tour de rôle la façade de l’Alliance Française qui révèle ses sentiments suivant les mouvements du spectateur. Juchés sur une estrade, ils manipulent les images projetées à l’aide d’une console de jeu. Singulier et amusant !

Pacmanize me (2011)

« PACMAN », le célèbre jeu vidéo des eighties, s’invite sur une façade d’immeuble de 220m² pour une performance vidéo ludique et interactive. Grâce à un capteur de mouvements à distance, de simples gestes suffisent pour piloter son avatar Pacman. Il faut alors faire preuve d’adresse et de réactivité pour ne pas se laisser dévorer par les affreux fantômes !

Et après la Fête des Lumières :
Festival Electrochoc 2012, Bourgoin-Jallieu
Workshop Label Infiné 2012, le Normandoux