Groupe LAPS

LAPS is an artistic production establishment created in 2019 which groups visual artists, lighting designers, scenographers, sound designers and video makers. It was behind Key Frames at the 2011 Festival of Lights as well as Spider Circus which featured in the 2017 edition. Both installations have subsequently travelled the world. The LAPS Group is also involved in collaborative projects in the Paris area, Living Architectures, Constellation and light displays for performing arts.

http://www.groupe-laps.org/en/


By the same artist

Games of Light (2021)

Parc Blandan, Lyon 7

This year the Festival of Lights is giving your children access to the playground of their dreams. Parc Sergent Blandan will be transformed into a funfair revisited in the age of new technology, where children and their parents can rekindle their fun-loving instincts and compete with each other to get the best score in the ten interactive light installations in this temporary play area.

Gather all your strength and jump onto a paving stone to set off a spectacular light display, try to copy the dance of a light acrobat in a modern form of hopscotch, carefully move a snake so as to gobble up as many dots of lights as you can or put your memory to the test and try to reproduce a sequence of sounds and lights.

It looks set to be an exciting contest in which all the family will have fun participating.

________

Artistic intent

These installations combine the artists’ own creative ideas, new technology and tried and tested game scenarios so that families can have fun together while visiting interactive and unexpected light art installations. 

Spider circus (2017)

Place Sathonay, Lyon 1

Spiders in the Square! They chase each other, fight, try to communicate and perform a fascinating dance on the threads of the giant web they have woven in the Place Sathonay. Look upwards to watch their ballet - these touching, burlesque insects of light radiate unexpected humanity. Spider Circus tackles the ambivalent feelings we have about spiders - involving both attraction and repulsion - in a humorous and spectacular way. Playing with our fantasies and fears, this display is really a playful catharsis. Long live arachnotherapy!


Funded by LED NER

Groupe LAPS

Groupe LAPS est une structure de production artistique créée en 2019, réunissant des plasticiens, éclairagistes, scénographes, concepteurs sonores et vidéastes. Elle a créé Key Frames pour la Fête des Lumières en 2011, ainsi que Spider Circus, présenté en 2017. Ces deux œuvres ont depuis voyagé dans le monde entier. Groupe LAPS participe également à des projets participatifs dans le 93, Architectures Vivantes, Constellation, créations lumières pour le spectacle vivant.

Plus d'infos sur le site du groupe LAPS


Toutes les oeuvres

Games of Light (2021)

Parc Blandan, Lyon 7

Cette année, la Fête des Lumières offre à vos enfants le terrain de jeu lumineux dont ils rêvaient. Le Parc Blandan se mue en une fête foraine revisitée à l’ère des nouvelles technologies.

En famille, réveillez votre âme joueuse, en rivalisant pour obtenir le meilleur score sur les dix installations sonores et lumineuses et interactives que compte cet espace ludique éphémère.

Ainsi, vous assemblez vos forces pour sauter sur une dalle et déclencher un effet lumineux spectaculaire, sur une marelle d’un nouveau genre, vous tentez de reproduire la danse d’un acrobate de lumière, vous manipulez avec agilité un serpent pour gober un maximum de points de lumière, ou encore vous exercez votre mémoire en tentant de reproduire une séquence sonore et lumineuse.

La compétition promet d’être haletante, et les rires et le plaisir de s’amuser tous ensemble seront assurément au rendez-vous !

________

Intention artistique

Ces installations combinent créativité, nouvelles technologies et scenarii de jeux éprouvés, pour associer le bonheur de jouer en famille au plaisir de déambuler parmi des œuvres lumineuses vivantes et insolites. 

Spider circus (2017)

Place Sathonay, Lyon 1

Les araignées sont dans la place ! Elles se poursuivent, s’opposent, chassent, tentent de communiquer et mènent une danse fascinante sur les fils de la toile géante qu’elles ont tissée place Sathonay. Levez la tête pour assister à leur ballet : ces insectes de lumière, burlesques et attendrissants, dégagent une humanité inattendue. Spiders traite avec humour et de manière spectaculaire le sentiment ambivalent d’attirance et de répulsion que suscitent les araignées. S’appuyant sur nos fantasmes et nos peurs, cette installation scénarisée agit finalement comme une catharsis ludique dans la ville : vive l’arachno-thérapie !


Avec le soutien de LED NER