Jérôme Donna

Jérôme Donna is a qualified interior designer who has chosen to explore every facet of urban lighting. After a stint as project manager for the company Les Éclairagistes Associés (LEA), he moved to the Public Lighting Department (DEU) working as both lighting engineer and lighting artist.  Every year since 2004, he has been on the lookout for new venues for illumination, creating and designing artworks with his fellow lighting enthusiasts.


By the same artist

Lightning Cloud (2019)

Floating through the air, particles of light disturb the peace of the Place des Célestins. Their movement seems to perform a strange, hypnotic ballet. As an allegory of the digital data sent every day through our communication networks, these fragments of virtual light come together to form a cloud in the middle of the square.  This metallic nebula – a custodian of our memories – gets brighter and brighter until it reaches saturation point and explodes, irradiating the surrounding architecture. The shimmering particles spread out, creating amazing pictures on the theatre, trees and facades of the square, revealing their beauty.

Incandescens (2016)

In the darkness of the theater, light from a flame suddenly appears, disturbing the tranquility of the sensitive and mysterious creature who dwells there. This chance encounter will draw you into a poetic world, where dreams and legends mix. Subtle silhouettes appear, dancing along and then disappearing in a ballet of light and shadow, while the flame warms the site as it licks the semicircular stones. 

Métropole de Lyon project.

Laniakea (2014)

Dive into the depths of a cosmic experience and confront light particles that scintillate by the thousands in the dark. Observe this hypnotic ballet of clouds, clusters of lighted dots and stars that, just like a galaxy, shape themselves into constellation and then disintegrate.

Jérôme Donna

Après un diplôme d’architecte d’intérieur à l’ESAIL, Jérôme Donna explore la lumière urbaine sous toutes ses formes. D’abord chargé de projets pour Les Éclairagistes Associés (LEA), il poursuit son parcours comme éclairagiste et artiste lumière à la DEU. À ce titre depuis 2004 pour la Fête des Lumières, Jérôme Donna défriche de nouveaux lieux. Ainsi, pour chaque édition, il crée et conçoit une œuvre qu’il réalise avec d’autres passionnés de son équipe.  


Toutes les oeuvres

Lightning Cloud (2019)

Flottant dans les airs des particules de lumière troublent la quiétude de la place des Célestins. Leurs mouvements aériens effectuent un étrange ballet hypnotique. Allégorie des données numériques quotidiennement envoyées via nos réseaux de communication, ces fragments de lumière virtuelle évoluent pour s’assembler en un nuage au centre de la place. Gardien de notre mémoire, cette nébuleuse métallique intensifiant son éclat jusqu’à saturation, finit par exploser pour irradier l’architecture alentour. Les particules étincelantes se propagent et créent d’étonnants tableaux sur le théâtre, le végétal et les façades de la place afin d'en révéler leur beauté.

Incandescens (2016)

Dans l’obscurité du théâtre, la lumière de la flamme jaillit et vient troubler la quiétude de la créature sensible et mystérieuse qui habite les lieux. Cette rencontre fortuite vous entraîne dans un univers poétique, mélange de rêves et de légendes. Un subtil jeu de silhouettes apparaît, évolue et disparaît dans un ballet d’ombres et de lumières, tandis que la flamme sublime les lieux en léchant les pierres de l’hémicycle. 

Laniakea (2014)

Plongez au cœur d’une expérience cosmique, face aux particules de lumière qui scintillent par milliers dans l’obscurité : observez ce ballet hypnotique de nuées, d’amas de points lumineux, d’étoiles, qui tels une galaxie, forment des constellations, puis se désagrègent.