Laurent Langlois

Laurent Langlois founded Artslide, a studio for "graphic design and creations for large-scale architectural projections" after studying painting and photography at art school. As a "light-painter", he creates architectural projections in 3-D, which he describes as "highly-pictorial trompe-l'œil projections", for festivals worldwide. He notably contributed to the Quito Fiesta de la Luz in 2016 2017, which is co-directed by the Lyon Festival of Lights.


By the same artist

Rayonnement (2017)

The Hotel Dieu, Lyon 1

The façade of the Hôtel-Dieu, which is currently undergoing the largest renovation project in Europe, has finally been freed of its scaffolding and is set to be unveiled at the Festival of Lights. Admire it in all its glory, enhanced by the talent of Laurent Langlois and Daniel Knipper. A series of scenes trace the history of the building, from its construction to its role as a hospital and not forgetting the period during which it housed a convent. See if you can spot the allusion to the future of the Hôtel-Dieu! Through clever trompe-l'œil effects and emphasis of its architectural lines, the Hôtel-Dieu shines once again!

On view from December 4 to 29,

Archipictural light (2012)

The facade of the theatre is a canvas onto which are projected ephemeral paintings, appearing one after another such as the marabout or a length of string. The concentrated gestures of the painter progressively produce form and colour, putting on and spreading the paint, the brush working the canvas, the scraping of the spatula, and then suddenly the spectator is drawn into a new dimension.

Laurent Langlois

Laurent Langlois crée Artslide, studio de « conception et créations graphiques pour projections monumentales, architecturales, géantes », après des études de peinture et de photographie aux Beaux-Arts. « Peintre-lumière », il imagine des projections architecturales en 3D qu’il qualifie de « projections en trompe-l’œil archi-picturales » pour des festivals du monde entier. Il a notamment participé à la Fiesta de la Luz de Quito en 2016 et 2017 dont la Fête des Lumières assure la codirection artistique.


Toutes les oeuvres

Rayonnement (2017)

La façade de l’Hôtel-Dieu, plus grand chantier de rénovation en cours dans toute l’Europe, est libérée de ses échafaudages et dévoilée à l’occasion de la Fête des Lumières. Admirez-la, magnifiée par le talent de Laurent Langlois et de Daniel Knipper. Plusieurs tableaux monumentaux retracent l’histoire du bâtiment, depuis sa construction à sa vocation d’hôpital, en passant par l’époque où le bâtiment abritait un couvent. Le futur de l’Hôtel-Dieu est également évoqué par un clin d’œil. Saurez-vous l’identifier ? Par un savant jeu de trompe-l’œil et de mise en valeur de ses lignes, l’Hôtel-Dieu retrouve son «rayonnement» !

Visible du 4 au 29 décembre 2017

Lumières Archipicturales (2012)

La façade du théâtre devient une toile sur laquelle naissent des tableaux éphémères, s’enchaînant tel un « marabout et bout de ficelle » pictural. Les gestes concentrés du peintre donnent progressivement forme à la matière et aux couleurs, posant et étalant la peinture, frottant la brosse contre la toile, raclant sa spatule,… Soudain, le spectateur est entraîné dans une nouvelle dimension : des lilliputiens s’attaquent de toutes parts au théâtre.