Nicolas Paolozzi

Nicolas Paolozzi takes a crosscutting approach to architecture combining scenography, performance art and signage. A self-taught lighting designer, the “artist-architect” as he likes to call himself, has been creating installations which enhance and reshape the landscape since 2011. He is driven by a desire for experimentation which he applies at all levels, from concept to production, from the light feature to the urban space. He founded the company MODULE in 2019 to provide a forum for his exploration of space as a set of interactions. He is pursuing his quest to design large-scale dynamic installations based on hybrid architecture.


By the same artist

TOWER (2019)

TOWER is a three-part artistic signage project designed to welcome the public and help them find their way around the city. From a distance, five glowing horizontal bars – encircling the tower at regular intervals – seem to float in the air as though in zero gravity. When the visitors get closer, they get a better view of the signs adorning the luminous totem. The aerial and futuristic aesthetic of these tall rectangular structures is inspired by the Deconstructivist architectural style. These "floating Deconstructivist designs" can be found in Bellecour, Cordeliers and Place Louis Pradel, symbolising today’s urban architecture and serving as illuminated landmarks during the Festival of Lights.

Abyss (2018)

Drawing inspiration from the principle of bioluminescence (generating light in complete darkness as some sea creatures are able to do), arcs of light form the dorsal fin of a huge mythical creature on Place Louis Pradel, which looks to have escaped from a Jules Verne novel. Continuing his inclination for interactive projects, Nicolas Paolozzi invites audiences to join together under his work of art. This fun and reflective installation responds to requests, moving over and over again according to random sequences triggered by spectators.

TOTEM (2018)

Welcome to the Festival! Nicolas Paolozzi's tall, sleek totems of light are beacons to help you find your way around the city. Once again this year, the five Indian-style totems will help you get your bearings as well as being perfect places for meeting up with friends before setting off to enjoy the Festival.

Nicolas Paolozzi

Nicolas Paolozzi  développe une pratique transversale de l’architecture, entre scénographie, performance et signalétique artistique. Autodidacte en conception lumière, « l’artiste-architecte », tel qu’il se désigne, crée depuis 2011 des installations qui valorisent et transforment le paysage. Du concept à la mise en œuvre, de l’objet à l’espace urbain, l’expérimentation demeure sa principale source d’inspiration. Considérant les espaces où il intervient comme un ensemble d'interactions, il crée en 2019 MODULE, société qui lui permet d’approfondir ses recherches. À partir d'architectures hybrides, Nicolas Paolozzi poursuit la conception de ses installations évolutives à grande échelle.


Toutes les oeuvres

TOWER (2019)

TOWER est un projet signalétique artistique en trois pièces dont la vocation est d’accueillir et d’orienter le public dans la ville. De loin, encerclant la tour à intervalles réguliers, cinq barres horizontales incandescentes semblent flotter dans les airs comme en apesanteur. En se rapprochant, le public distingue les bâches de signalétique disposées çà et là ornant le totem lumineux. L’esthétique aérienne et futuriste de ces hautes structures rectangulaires s’inspire du courant architectural déconstructiviste. Disposées à Bellecour, Cordeliers et place Louis Pradel, ces « déconstructions flottantes », symboles contemporains de l’architecture urbaine, seront des repères lumineux dans la Fête des lumières.

Abyss (2018)

S’inspirant du principe de bioluminescence (capacité à générer de la lumière dans l’obscurité totale), dont sont dotés certains êtres aquatiques, les arches de lumière forment la dorsale d’une créature chimérique monumentale que l’on croirait échappée d’un roman de Jules Verne sur la place Louis Pradel. Fidèle à son goût pour les projets interactifs, Nicolas Paolozzi invite le public à se rassembler sous son œuvre. Réactive aux sollicitations, cette installation ludique et contemplative s’anime de séquences aléatoires que les spectateurs déclenchent à l’envi.

TOTEM (2018)

L’installation de Nicolas Paolozzi vous souhaite la bienvenue à la Fête des Lumières 2018. L’architecte remplit la mission de vous orienter grâce à ses œuvres. Repères lumineux monumentaux, les 5 totems ponctuent cette année encore votre parcours et vous guident à travers la ville. Aériennes et épurées, ces œuvres aux allures de totems indiens sont devenues des points de rendez-vous indispensables à votre visite.