Worldbeaters Music / DUNDU

The brainchild of Tobias Husemann, the Dundu first made a name for themselves in 2006 at the opening ceremony of the Football World Cup. From Ibiza to Dubai, the glowing puppets have been on the move ever since. A huge articulated puppet, Dundu means “you and you” in German, a rather odd expression which reminds us that we are a tiny bit of a whole and that we can accomplish great things all together. The Dundu first encountered the Worldbeaters led by Chris Maines-Beasley and Alex Tustin at the Chinese New Year celebrations in Hong Kong in 2016. The artists became firm friends prompting the British drummers to cross Channel in 2019 to dance with the Dundu on the banks of the Saône for their first Festival of Lights.


By the same artist

Spark! / Dundu - The Giants of Light (2019)

Banks of the Saône, Lyon 1, Lyon 2

The Dundu, giant glowing puppets unencumbered by costumes, parade along the banks of the Saône accompanied by eccentric drummers dressed in glittery attire - the Worldbeaters! First you see one, then the other, then they join forces in an exuberant carnival of light. Everyone is invited to dance along and make the city one giant party.

On December 7 and 8, beginner’s workshops will be held during the day on percussion instruments and puppetry (25 participants per session, you can sign up at the Credit Mutual bank on a first-come first-served basis).

Along the banks of the Saône between the Pont la Feuillée and Pont Alphonse Juin.

Dundus, the Giants of Light (2014)

The Dundus are large puppets with a transparent, flexible body who stroll gently to the melodious sound of the kora, a harp from West Africa. Let them come close to you. Their almost human behavior is amazing.

In the end, Dundu, which is DU UND DU ("you and you") in phonetic German, is a metaphor for human life. Together, we can accomplish great things, and you are only one part of a whole.

They'll be waiting for you every evening during the Festival at Quai St. Antoine (near the Maréchal Juin Bridge) for two presentations at 8:30 p.m. and 11 p.m. Don't be surprised if you also cross the path of these unusual visitors on the streets of the Presqu'ile during the festivities.

In collaboration with Les Subsistances

Dundu in Lyon - Fête des Lumières from DUNDU on Vimeo.

Worldbeaters Music / DUNDU

Créés par Tobias Husemann, les Dundu se font connaître en 2006 lors de l’ouverture de la Coupe du monde de football. Depuis, d’Ibiza à Dubaï, les pantins de lumière ont vu bien du pays. Immense marionnette articulée, Dundu signifie en allemand « toi et toi », une expression mystérieuse qui rappelle que nous ne sommes qu’une partie d'un tout qui, uni, peut accomplir beaucoup. Les Dundu rencontrent les Worldbeaters menés par Chris Maines-Beasley et Alex Tustin, lors du nouvel an chinois à Hong Kong en 2016. Une amitié artistique, qui amène les percussionnistes anglais à traverser la Manche en 2019, pour faire danser les Dundu en bord de Saône pour leur première Fête des Lumières.


Toutes les oeuvres

Spark! / Dundu - The Giants of Light (2019)

Quais de Saône, Lyon 1, Lyon 2

Lumineuses et épurées, de gigantesques marionnettes déambulent au rythme d’excentriques percussionnistes. Vêtus de costumes scintillants, les impétueux Worldbeaters, accompagnés des Dundu, transforment les bords de Saône en un joyeux carnaval de lumière. Alternant leurs apparitions, la parade finit par réunir Dundu et Worldbeaters pour une réjouissante partition commune qui va ambiancer la Fête des Lumières. Au gré de cette entrainante chorégraphie, la ville prend des airs de fête et convie le public à entrer dans la danse.

Les 7 et 8 décembre, en journée, des ateliers donnent l’occasion à quelques chanceux de s’initier à la percussion et de découvrir les marionnettes (25 par sessions, inscription Crédit Mutuel dans la limite des places disponibles).

Déambulation sur les quais de Saône, entre les ponts la Feuillée et Alphonse Juin.

Dundu, les géants de lumière (2014)

Les Dundu, grandes marionnettes au corps flexible et transparent, déambulent en douceur au son mélodieux de la Kora, une harpe venant d’Afrique de l’Ouest. Laissez-les vous approcher : leur comportement, presque humain, est étonnant.

Dundu qui signifie DU UND DU soit « toi et toi » en phonétique (traduction allemande) est finalement une métaphore de la vie humaine : ensemble, vous pouvez accomplir de grandes choses et vous n’êtes qu’une partie d'un tout.

Retrouvez-les chaque soir de la Fête sur le quai St Antoine (au niveau du Pont Maréchal Juin) pour deux représentions à 20h30 et 22h00. Ne soyez pas surpris, vous pourrez également croiser ces visiteurs insolites dans les rues de la Presqu’île tout au long de la fête.

Avec la complicité des Subsistances.

Dundu in Lyon - Fête des Lumières from DUNDU on Vimeo.