David Udovtsch

Light designer David Udovtsch took a keen early interest in theatre, video and film. Having graduated in audiovisual arts in 2010, he started working in entertainment as a lighting engineer, but also as a magician and visual artist. In 2016, he created Photocolor, a sensitive, interactive installation that became his first contribution to the Festival of Lights. Using a wide range of skills and drawing from his diverse experience, this illusionist combines media to create contemplative work that arouses curiosity and surprises audiences. In 2017, he created La Nuit des temps to promote his various artistic projects.


By the same artist

You and the night (2018)

David Udovtsch's You and the Night takes a fresh look at the natural phenomenon of the Northern Lights. It's a meditative installation where the illusionist makes the fountain in the place des Jacobins appear in the sky studded with countless stars. At the feet of the Sirens, female guardians of the cosmos, a hint of simmering, imperceptible colour slowly emerges. The fountain transforms into a lighthouse, its beam of light sweeping over the square as though appealing to the Northern Lights to show themselves… which they do, illuminating the facade in subtle shades of green, blue and mauve... Their departure is heralded by a final dance of light before the star-spangled sky makes its gentle return.

 

Photocolor (2016)

Part photo booth, part psychological test, "Photocolor" reveals the color of your personality. The booth asks you questions and then immortalizes you in your very own colorimetric world. Next, find out the souvenir pictures of this luminous moment on www.photocolor.fr.

With the support of Le Théâtre, Scène Nationale de Mâcon, and Rabuel Construction. In collaboration with L'Echelle.

David Udovtsch

Concepteur lumière, David Udovtsch se passionne très tôt pour le théâtre, la vidéo et le cinéma. Après un diplôme en audiovisuel en 2010, il évolue dans le milieu du spectacle en tant qu’éclairagiste et régisseur mais aussi comme prestidigitateur et artiste plasticien. En 2016, il propose Photocolor une installation sensible et interactive qui lui offre sa première participation à la Fête des Lumières. Utilisant les compétences multiples de ses différentes expériences, ce professionnel de l’illusion croise les disciplines pour proposer des œuvres contemplatives qui attisent la curiosité et provoquent la surprise. Il crée La Nuit des temps en 2017 pour porter ses différents projets artistiques.


Toutes les oeuvres

You and the night (2018)

Avec You and the night, David Udovtsch revisite le phénomène naturel des aurores boréales. Une installation contemplative où l’illusionniste fait apparaitre la fontaine des Jacobins sur un ciel piqueté d’une myriade d’étoiles. Aux pieds des sirènes, gardiennes du cosmos, une coloration frémissante et imperceptible se dessine doucement. La fontaine se transforme alors en phare dont le faisceau lumineux esquisse un balayage de la place comme pour appeler l’aurore boréale à se montrer. Celle-ci se matérialise en irradiant l’édifice de subtiles nuances de vert, de bleu et de mauve… Pour annoncer son départ, on assiste à une ultime danse de la lumière avant le retour apaisant du ciel constellé.

Photocolor (2016)

Entre le photomaton et le test psychologique, la Photocolor révèle la couleur de votre personnalité. La cabine vous interroge puis vous immortalise dans votre univers colorimétrique personnalisé que vous pourrez retrouver en récupérant la photo souvenir de ce moment lumineux sur www.photocolor.fr.