Eric Michel

Eric Michel studied visual arts and music at a very young age using the Martenot method. Initially focused on classical music, then rock and underground, he became interested in painting and sculpture at the end of the eighties. He has had many shows in Japan and participated in the Kawasaki Contemporary Art Biennial in 2003. Since 2004, he has exhibited in France, as well as London, New York, Miami, Shanghai and San Francisco. 

Eric Michel's work on light – in particular his paintings saturated with pure pigments, his videos and his fluorescent installations – is part of a tradition that seeks the immaterial, in keeping with artists like Yves Klein, James Turrell and Dan Flavin.

www.ericmichel.net


By the same artist

Platonium (2016)

From the infinitely small to the infinitely large, from material to immaterial, from research to pure sensitivity, the artist and the scientist take us across space-time, the better to understand environnemental issues. The installation reveals a monumental chandelier made from lame and luminous fabric, standing in the center of the courtyard, magnified by the mirror on the ground. By mobilizing imagination, amazement and surprise, the installation reveals in an artistic way recent innovations and knowledge related to light. Find the keys to understanding them on the CNRS Platonium website.

Project CNRS - International Year of Light. In partnership with University Claude Bernard Lyon 1 and the University of Lyon, with the participation of ILM, IRCELYON and CRAL.

Eric Michel

Eric Michel a étudié les arts plastiques et la musique très jeune avec la méthode Martenot. Orienté initialement vers la musique classique, puis rock et underground, il est revenu à la peinture et la sculpture vers la fin des années 80. Il a fait de nombreuses expositions au Japon et a notamment participé à la biennale d’art contemporain de Kawasaki en 2003. Depuis 2004, il expose en France mais aussi à Londres, New-York, Miami, Shangai ou San Fransisco. 
Son travail sur la lumière, en particulier ses tableaux saturés de pigments purs, ses vidéos et ses installations fluorescentes, s’inscrit essentiellement dans la tradition d’une quête de l’immatériel, dans la lignée d’Yves Klein, James Turrell et Dan Flavin.

www.ericmichel.net


Toutes les oeuvres

Platonium (2016)

Hôtel de Ville, Lyon 1

De l’infiniment petit à l’infiniment grand, du matériel à l’immatériel, de la recherche à la sensibilité pure… L’artiste et le scientifique vous font traverser l’espace-temps pour mieux appréhender les enjeux environnementaux. L'installation révèle un lustre monumental composé de lames de tissus lumineux trônant au centre de la cour, sublimé par un miroir au sol. En mobilisant l'imagination, l'émerveillement et la surprise, l’installation révèle, sous l’angle artistique, les innovations et connaissances récentes faisant écho à la lumière, à décrypter sur le site web CNRS de Platonium.

Platonium, une oeuvre au croisement de l'art et... par CNRS

► Visitez le site dédié à cette oeuvre artistique : www.cnrs.fr/platonium