Jean-Luc Hervé

Jean-Luc Hervé trained in architectural lighting at the Institut Général des Techniques du Spectacle, before going on to create a number of lighting displays, both permanent and for festivals. He is the founder of Orpailleurs de Lumière, a collective of sound, light, image and video designers.

Creating permanent and temporary lighting for a range of urban and industrial buildings, Jean-Luc has been a regular participant at the Trophy of Lights in Marseille since 2005. He designed the "Open at Night" light display at the Hôtel du Département for the 2008 Festival of Lights in Lyon, together with the fixed lighting of the Abbey of Saint Victor in Marseille.

Just as gold-diggers sift through kilos of earth looking for the nugget, the Orpailleurs de Lumière are artisans that tirelessly pursue their quest for the light – the one that revolutionizes our perception of the cityscape, revealing it in a new perspective. From the earliest stages of the creative process, they seek to mould the light show to a piece of music or, as they put it, ensure "the light shines on the musical score". In 2013 for example, their light provided the rhythm for the Grand Orchestre de Fourvière.

lesorpailleursdelumiere.com


By the same artist

Time for light (2017)

Fourvière Hill, Lyon 5

In a symphony that cleverly combines light effects and music, the Orpailleurs de Lumière race against the clock to light up every nook and cranny of Fourvière hill. They don't have much time to depict the cycle of light, from sunset to sunrise. The Northern lights can already be seen on the riverside buildings! Hurry up, after the Cathedral and Law Courts, there are still places to enhance… including some of the best, such as the Basilica and, emerging from the shadows for the first time this year, the Jardins du Rosaire. The vertical lines of all the iconic buildings on the hill call out to each other in a magnificent, monumental show of lights.

Un piano sous la neige (2016)

Place Sathonay, Lyon 1

Attend the concert of a metal pianist guided by light, whose melody transforms the real world into an imaginary one, flooding the square with light and color until reality is forgotten. The music electrifies you and engulfs the square, while light creates a dialog between plants and stone. The imperturbable pianist continues his concert, and the piano notes fly away as a snowstorm swirls about.

Project sponsored by Cogedim and Toshiba.

Cathedral of Water and Light (2014)

From the outside, you eye is caught by the enormous waterfall that runs down the north facade of the Hôtel de Région. Enter and cross the roiling water...and before your eyes, a cathedral of light appears. Every thirty minutes, you will hear the Hostel Dieu concert choir and a soprano voice in a live interpretation of the Kyrie from Mozart's Mass in C Major.

Hostel Dieu concerts from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. each evening.

The Great Orchestra of Fourvière (2013)

Fourvière Hill, Lyon 5

From the Saône to the Fourvière Basilica, each aquatic, vegetal or mineral element in the landscape becomes an instrumental part of the « Great Orchestra of Fourvière ». To the opening theme of the film « Lawrence of Arabia », composed by Maurice Jarre, a Lyonnais, the hill becomes a symphony. The river sparkles with violas and violins, the riverbanks come to life with cellos and oboes, the Palais de Justice resounds with piano, harp and brasses.

Encounter with the Green Beam (2011)

The cycle of a day recreated by the illumination of the south side of Fourvière hill and its two emblematic buildings: the church of Saint-Georges and the Lycée Saint-Just.

A mythical phenomenon - the green beam - appear to the informed spectators from Quai Tilsitt just as the sun sets, a strategic viewing point and the precise point of convergence of the two buildings, at the end of this luminous scenography.

Jean-Luc Hervé

Jean-Luc Hervé est formé à la mise en lumière architecturale à l’Institut Général des Techniques du Spectacle et devient créateur de nombreuses mises en lumière pérennes ou événementielles. Il fonde les Orpailleurs de Lumière, collectif de créateurs en son, lumière, image et vidéo.

Il réalise les mises en lumière éphémères ou pérennes de nombreux bâtiments urbains ou industriels et participe régulièrement à partir de 2005 aux Trophées des Lumières à Marseille. On lui doit «Ouvert la Nuit», la mise en lumière de l’Hôtel du Département (Lyon 3e) lors de la Fête des Lumières 2008 à Lyon, ou encore la mise en lumière pérenne de l'Abbaye Saint Victor à Marseille.

Comme les chercheurs d'or passent au tamis des kilos de terre, à l'affût de LA pépite, les Orpailleurs de Lumière sont des artisans qui poursuivent, inlassablement, leur quête de LA lumière : celle qui bouleverse notre perception des espaces urbains, les révélant sous un jour nouveau. Dans leurs scénographies monumentales, la lumière se pose sur la partition. Dès le début du processus de création, ils cherchent à faire s’épouser une mise en scène lumineuse et une œuvre musicale. En 2013, leur lumière rythmait par exemple le «Grand orchestre de Fourvière.» 

lesorpailleursdelumiere.com


Toutes les oeuvres

Time for light (2017)

Dans une symphonie qui mêle étroitement jeu de lumières et partition musicale, les Orpailleurs de Lumière s’engagent dans une course contre la montre pour embraser la moindre parcelle de la colline de Fourvière. Ils n’ont que peu de temps pour évoquer le cycle de la lumière, du coucher du soleil à son lever. Déjà, des aurores boréales apparaissent sur les immeubles du quai ! Vite, après la cathédrale Saint-Jean et le Palais de Justice, il leur reste encore plusieurs lieux à sublimer… Et non des moindres : la Basilique, notamment, et les jardins du Rosaire, sortant de l’ombre pour la première fois cette année. Les lignes verticales de tous les bâtiments emblématiques de la colline se répondent dans un tableau monumental.

Un piano sous la neige (2016)

Place Sathonay, Lyon 1

Assistez au concert d’un pianiste métallique, animé de lumière, dont la mélodie transforme le réel en imaginaire, inonde la place de lumière et de couleurs jusqu’à en faire oublier l’existence. La musique vous galvanise et enveloppe la place, tandis que la lumière fait dialoguer les végétaux et la pierre. Imperturbable, le pianiste poursuit son concert et les notes de piano s’envolent lorsque des flocons tourbillonnent en une tempête.

Cathédrale d’eau et de lumière (2014)

De l’extérieur, votre regard est happé par l’immense cascade qui s’écoule sur la façade nord de l’Hôtel de Région. Entrez et franchissez l’eau bouillonnante… pour voir apparaître, une cathédrale de lumière, dans laquelle résonnent toutes les 30 minutes les chœurs du concert de l’Hostel Dieu et le chant d’une soprano interprétant en direct le Kyrie de la Messe en Ut de Mozart.

Le Grand Orchestre de Fourvière (2013)

De la Saône à la basilique de Fourvière, l’immense orchestre de lumières joue sur le thème d’ouverture du film « Lawrence d’Arabie », composé par le Lyonnais Maurice Jarre. La rivière scintille avec les altos et les violons, les berges s’animent avec les violoncelles et hautbois, le Palais de justice résonne avec le piano, la harpe et les cuivres.

A la rencontre du Rayon Vert (2011)

Les façades de l’église Saint-Georges, à fleur de Saône, s’illuminent en résonance avec celles du lycée Saint-Just qui surplombe la colline de Fourvière pour raconter l’allégorie d’une journée sans cesse renouvelée. La lumière, après avoir atteint son zénith, s’adoucit progressivement, façonnant des paysages aux couleurs douces et nuancées. Et, tandis que le pâle éclat de la Lune émerge peu à peu, le soleil, avant de plonger dans les limbes de la nuit diffuse, fugitivement, derrière l’édifice de Saint-Just, le mythique rayon vert.