Julien Menzel

Julien Menzel is a Franco-German artist based in Lyon who trained as an architect. He capitalises on his work with pixels and kinetics to produce interactive mapping and optical art installations. As a member of the Lyon collective NUMBER8, he produced Gustave, the Stegosaurus, the star of "Jurassic Spark” in the 2016 Festival of Lights.


By the same artist

Phénix (2021)

A majestic phoenix, the incarnation of the mythical animal symbolising hope and rebirth, has landed in Lyon. Neon lights vibrate with a multitude of bright and changing colours, evoking the beautiful plumage of tropical birds such as the blue-throated macaw or the yellow-fronted parrot.

The Phoenix is reborn from the ashes as a flock of birds in the heart of the city. The birdsong, recorded in French Guiana, adds to your impression of being in the midst of a tropical forest.

________

Artistic intent

The changing colours of the Phénix are inspired by the plumage of different birds threatened by extinction, thereby encouraging the public to think about conservation of the species.

________

Sound track: Damien Reynaud
Technical assistance: GRIM EDIF

Platonic (2017)

In Platonic, Julien Menzel has created a contemplative sound and light installation, choosing a mathematic, geometrical, pure and contemporary approach to light for his homage to Plato. Dynamic lighting invigorates the tetrahedron to the rhythm of a soundtrack created by Damien Reynaud.


Funded by GRIM EDIF, Lycée Fernand Forest / St Priest and the Eglise Saint Nizier

Julien Menzel

Artiste lyonnais, franco-allemand, travaillant la lumière, le pixel et la cinétique, Julien Menzel est architecte de formation. Son travail s’exprime par des installations, lumineuses et interactives, de mapping et d’art optique. Il appartient à un collectif lyonnais, NUMBER8, avec lequel il a produit le Stégosaure Gustave de Jurassic Spark présenté à la Fête des Lumières en 2016.


Toutes les oeuvres

Phénix (2021)

Un imposant Phénix, inspiré de l’animal mythique, est venu se poser à Lyon, pour nous transmettre un message d’espoir et de renaissance. Cet oiseau de néons vibre de multiples couleurs vives et changeantes, évoquant les magnifiques plumages d’oiseaux tropicaux, comme l’ara à gorge bleue ou le perroquet à face jaune.

Le Phénix renaît ainsi de ses cendres, en une multiplicité d’oiseaux au cœur de la ville. Leurs chants, enregistrés en Guyane, achèvent de vous immerger au cœur d’une forêt tropicale.

________

Intention artistique

Ode à la faune tropicale en plein centre-ville, le Phénix de Julien Menzel nous invite à la réflexion sur la préservation de la diversité des espèces. Chacune des programmations lumineuses colorées du Phenix est empruntée au plumage d’un oiseau de la jungle tropicale aujourd’hui en voie d’extinction.

________

Création sonore : Damien Reynaud
Soutien technique : GRIM EDIF

Julien Menzel évoque Phénix :

 

Voir la vidéo 

Une œuvre sélectionnée pour le Trophée des Lumières 2021 :
 

Phénix (vidéo) 

Platonic (2017)

Avec «Platonic», Julien Menzel met en scène une installation audiovisuelle contemplative en optant pour une forme mathématique, géométrique, pure et contemporaine dans sa mise en lumière, et son contexte, en hommage à Platon. L’éclairage dynamique vient animer le tétraèdre au rythme de l’ambiance sonore créée par Damien Reynaud.


Avec le soutien de GRIM EDIF, du Lycée Fernand Forest / St Priest et de l'Eglise Saint Nizier