La Camaraderie

La Camaraderie is a French-Quebec team created by young graduates in design from the University of Quebec in Montreal. This multi-disciplinary design studio was founded by Alabane Guy, a former student of Lyon's School of Fine Art and resident of Montreal since 2008, and Alexandre Renzo. Their participative and narrative art installations blend graphic, space and set design. They have exported their own particular brand of sensitivity and ingenuity from Canada to Europe at a host of different cultural events. Juggling with different disciplines, they produce tongue-in-cheek installations where creativity rubs shoulders with low technology and clever craftwork. 

 www.lacamaraderie.com/


By the same artist

Les Fabuloscopes (2019)

Palais de Bondy, Lyon 5

The atrium of the Palais de Bondy is the venue for the Camaraderie’s exhibition of Fabuloscopes, inspired by those 19th century inventions known as zoetropes and praxinoscopes that generated the first moving images in 1834. The machines, which have been customised a tad by modern technology, explore the mechanical principle of these optical toys, and invite spectators to turn the wheel that surrounds them. Once they’ve been set in motion, the three structures start scrolling through images that transform into animations. Then, thanks to the strobe, the public gets to see some brief comic sketches that humorously update the stories we’re familiar with from our childhoods. Viewers can discover, for instance, a feminist remake of Eve and Adam and Guignol getting the climate ball rolling...
 

As this Festival of Lights installation is on the first floor of the Palais de Bondy, there is no access for people with reduced mobility. We apologise for this situation.

Lumiblabla (2018)

The inflatables are back again this year. This time, the courtyard of the Musées Gadagne is inhabited by some rather unusual creatures, courtesy of La Camaraderie. Three white, voice-controlled inflatables react to the sound of visitors’ voices with a display of light revealing their shapes, faces and even personalities. Communicating with light and sound, Lumiblabla offers an entertaining interactive experience for all the family.

Les Luminuits (2017)

Get ready for a surprise at the end of the traboule or passageway that leads to the Cour des Moirages! Shadows, huddled together in the night, shrink away from your enquiring gaze. It's up to you to reveal their profiles and personalities using the flashes of your cameras or smart phones. Are they friendly? Disturbing? Pose for a selfie with them and you'll find out!

La Camaraderie

La Camaraderie, équipe franco-québécoise, est créée par de jeunes designers diplômés de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Albane Guy, ancienne étudiante des Beaux-Arts de Lyon, installée à Montréal depuis 2008, et Alexandre Renzo sont à l’origine de ce studio de design multidisciplinaire. Design graphique, d’espace ou de scénographie, leurs créations sont toujours des expériences participatives et narratives. Invités à de nombreux événements culturels, ils exportent leurs trouvailles sensibles et créatives du Canada à l’Europe. À la croisée des disciplines, ils inventent des dispositifs interactifs où créativité, technologie low-tech et artisanat se marient avec ingéniosité et humour. 

► www.lacamaraderie.com


Toutes les oeuvres

Les Fabuloscopes (2019)

Palais de Bondy, Lyon 5

Inspirés des zootropes et praxinoscopes, inventions du 19e qui génèrent dès 1834 les premières images animées, la Camaraderie expose ses Fabuloscopes dans l’atrium du Palais de Bondy. Explorant le principe mécanique de ces jouets optiques, ces machines un brin customisées par la technologie, invitent le public à faire tourner le volant qui les encercle. Sous cette impulsion, les trois structures font défiler des images qui se transforment en animation et, grâce au stroboscope, offrent au public de courtes saynètes dépoussiérant avec humour les contes de notre enfance. Le spectateur peut notamment découvrir  un remake féministe d’Eve et Adam et un Guignol en pleine marche pour le climat…
 

Le positionnement de l’œuvre Fête des Lumières au 1er étage du Palais de Bondy ne permet pas l’accès aux personnes à mobilités réduites, nous vous prions de nous excuser pour cette situation.

Lumiblabla (2018)

La Camaraderie nous donne cette année rendez-vous dans la cour des Musées Gadagne avec trois nouvelles créatures. Cette fois-ci, les personnages sont blancs et réagissent à la fréquence de la voix. Grâce à un système de détection sonore, un dispositif déclenche une animation lumineuse au cœur des trois structures gonflables. Le public est invité à révéler les motifs, visages et personnalités de ces étranges structures gonflables. Entre contemplation et dialogue sonore et lumineux, Lumiblabla offre une expérience ludique et insolite à vivre en famille.

Les Luminuits (2017)

Préparez-vous à une surprise au bout de la traboule qui mène à la cour des Moirages… Dans un recoin, des ombres, tapies dans la nuit, se dissimulent à votre regard. À  vous de révéler, grâce aux flashs de vos appareils photos, de vos smartphones ou de ceux des médiateurs,  leurs différents profils et personnalités… Sont-ils sympathiques ? Inquiétants ? Posez pour un selfie avec eux et vous le saurez !