Léa Barbazanges

Léa Barbazanges was born in 1985, and is a graduate of the School of Decorative Arts in Strasbourg, the city where she lives and works. Her artwork has been shown in both solo and group exhibitions. She is a curious artist who gleans materials of mineral, vegetable or animal origin chosen for their elegance, delicacy and refinement to create her "organic assemblies". Graphics, interplay of lines, veins, ramifications, transparencies, brilliance and reflections, they emerge in the light, extraordinarily fragile, in precarious equilibrium and threatening to disappear when touched. Acts of observation and understanding, her assemblies are the product of patient, meticulous and rational gestures. She arranges the exact shaping of the material without any contrivance, going beyond its limits and releasing its invisible properties by simply experimenting with its characteristics.

MicaPenrose is a project developed by Léa Barbazanges with Sylvain Ravy, researcher at the CNRS, with the support of Diagonale Paris-Saclay, the Grand Est Region, and the expertise of Denis Gratias, member of the Academy of Sciences.

leabarbazanges.fr


By the same artist

MicaPenrose (2021)

MicaPenrose is a project that intimately links art and science, with scientific rigour and aesthetic refinement. It represents a quasicrystal with tiles made of a periodic crystal called mica, the mineral that sparkles in sand and pebbles.

The colours, which echo the palette of soap bubbles, are created by the optical properties of mica and change as you move around the work. When viewed from the side, the natural colour of the mineral appears. 

The pattern - a Penrose tiling - models the atomic structure of the aluminium alloy quasicrystal, the discovery of which overturned scientists' ideas of order in matter and was awarded the 2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

The frame of MicaPenrose is itself made of aluminium alloy.

________

Artistic intent

This attentive approach to reality invites modern viewers to reflect on how they see their environment and the extraordinary beauty of everyday life.

________

Technical assistance: project developed with Sylvain Ravy, researcher at the CNRS, with the support of Diagonale Paris-Saclay, the Grand Est Region, and the expertise of Denis Gratias, co-discoverer of quasicrystals and member of the Academy of Sciences.

Léa Barbazanges

Léa Barbazanges, née en 1985, vit et travaille à Strasbourg. Elle est diplômée de l'Ecole Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Strasbourg. Son travail a fait l'objet d'expositions personnelles et expositions collectives. Artiste curieuse, glaneuse, elle collecte des matériaux d'origine minérale, végétale ou animale choisis pour leur élégance, délicatesse et raffinement pour créer ses "assemblages organiques". Graphiques, jeux de lignes, de nervures, de ramifications, de transparences, de brillance et de reflets, ils se révèlent à la lumière, extraordinairement fragiles, en équilibre précaire, menaçant de disparaître au toucher. Actes d’observation et de compréhension, ses assemblages sont le fruit d’un geste patient, méticuleux et rationnel. Elle organise la juste mise en forme du matériau sans aucun artifice, en dépasse les limites et dégage ses propriétés invisibles par la simple expérimentation de ses caractéristiques.

MicaPenrose est un projet développé par Léa Barbazanges avec Sylvain Ravy, chercheur au CNRS, avec le soutien de Diagonale Paris-Saclay, la Région Grand Est, et l'expertise de Denis Gratias, membre de l'Académie des sciences.

leabarbazanges.fr


Toutes les oeuvres

MicaPenrose (2021)

Projet liant intimement art et science, avec rigueur scientifique et raffinement esthétique, MicaPenrose représente un quasi cristal avec des tuiles faites d'un cristal périodique, le mica : ce minéral qui scintille dans le sable ou les galets.

Les couleurs, qui reprennent la palette des bulles de savon par exemple, sont dues aux propriétés optiques du mica et changent en fonction de votre déplacement. En vision latérale, la couleur naturelle du minéral apparaît. 

Le motif - un pavage de Penrose - permet de modéliser la structure atomique du quasi cristal d’alliage d’aluminium, dont la découverte a été récompensée par le prix Nobel de chimie 2011. La découverte du quasicristal a bouleversé les idées que les scientifiques se faisaient de l'ordre dans la matière.

Le cadre de MicaPenrose est lui-même réalisé en alliage d'aluminium.

________

Intention artistique

Approche attentive du réel, la démarche de l’artiste renvoie le contemporain à son regard sur son environnement, à l’extraordinaire beauté du banal. 

________

Soutien technique : projet développé avec Sylvain Ravy, chercheur au CNRS, avec le soutien de Diagonale Paris-Saclay, la Région Grand Est, et l'expertise de Denis Gratias, codécouvreur des quasi-cristaux et membre de l'Académie des sciences.