Lycée La Martinière - Diderot

Lycée La Martinière - Diderot, Lyon 1

La Martinière Diderot is a school located in the historic heart of the city that has played a prominent role in the life and history of Lyon. It was created from the merger of two high schools, namely La Martinière Terreaux, founded in 1833, and the Lyon Weaving School, which later became Lycée Diderot, founded in 1884 in the heart of the Canut silk weaving district.

La Martinière Diderot is a multi-site school, housed in buildings that also form part of Lyon's heritage, such as the former 17th century Augustinian cloister on Place Rambaud, La Martinière Jeunes Filles, an Art Nouveau style building, constructed in 1903 on Rue La Martinière and the Lyon Weaving School, built in 1933 on the slopes of the Croix-Rousse by Lyon architect Tony Garnier.

ARCH'tefact


Wednesday 8, Thursday 9: 7 p.m. to 11 p.m.
Friday 10, Saturday 11: 8 p.m. to midnight

► Masks mandatory for adults and children over 11.
Covid health pass mandatory for admission to this venue


In the former Augustine cloister, now the courtyard of the Lycée La Martinière - Diderot, thirteen coloured luminous arches retrace the former architecture of the place, symbolising the journeys of the pupils and students who pass through every day.

As you stroll through the labyrinth, you drift between the past and the future, giving free rein to your imagination to discover the square with new eyes.

________

About the project


> ARCH'tefact

Lycée La Martinière - Diderot

Lycée La Martinière - Diderot, Lyon 1

La Martinière Diderot, situé dans le cœur historique de la ville de Lyon est un établissement fortement ancré dans la vie et l’histoire lyonnaises. Il est né, en effet, de la fusion de deux lycées : La Martinière Terreaux, créée en 1833 et l’École de tissage de Lyon, devenue par la suite lycée Diderot, construite en 1884 au cœur du quartier des Canuts.

La Martinière Diderot, établissement multi-sites, est logé dans des bâtiments faisant partie, eux aussi, du patrimoine lyonnais : l’ancien cloître des Augustins du XVIIe siècle, place Rambaud ; La Martinière Jeunes filles, immeuble style Arts Nouveaux, bâti en 1903 rue La Martinière ; le bâtiment de l’École de Tissage de Lyon, construit en 1933 sur les pentes de Croix-Rousse par l’architecte lyonnais Tony Garnier.

ARCH'tefact


Mercredi 8, jeudi 9 : 19h-23h
Vendredi 10, samedi 11 : 20h-minuit
(fermeture 15 minutes avant l'horaire de fin)

► Port du masque obligatoire à partir de 11 ans.
Passe sanitaire obligatoire pour accéder à cette œuvre


Dans l’ancien cloître des Augustins, devenu la cour du Lycée La Martinière-Diderot, 13 arches lumineuses colorées redessinent l’architecture ancienne du lieu, symbolisant tout à la fois les parcours des élèves et étudiants qui les habitent et traversent chaque jour.

Dans cette déambulation labyrinthique, égarez-vous entre passé et futur, et laissez libre cours à votre imagination pour découvrir le lieu avec un regard nouveau.

________

À propos du projet


> ARCH'tefact