Temple du change

Temple du change, Lyon 5

At the end of the 15th Century during the reign of Francis I, Lyon became Europe’s leading financial centre. The customs administration was located near the Pont du Change (demolished in 1842), a stone's throw from the place du Change, a busy trading area since the 13th Century. This was where the money changers congregated until the "Loge du Change” was built between 1631 and 1653 based on drawings by Simon Gourdet.

In 1803, following Napoleon’s concordat and the organic articles which redefined the power of the church, the Loge du Change was handed over by the city to Lyon’s protestant community, officially changing its name to Temple du Change.

In December 1999 to celebrate the new millennium, the City of Lyon and the Renaissance du Vieux Lyon conservation association fulfilled Soufflot’s wish to see two clocks on the façade of the Temple du Change.  The clock on the right is a familiar sight as it existed from the outset. But the one on the left is a more recent addition: it is the “ideal” clock originally imagined by Soufflot but never actually produced which shows the days, months and years.

Source: Gadagne Museums website

Do humans need humans?


Wednesday 8, Thursday 9: 7 p.m.-11 p.m.
Friday 10, Saturday 11: 8 p.m.-midnight

► Masks mandatory for adults and children over 11.


This is part of the Farnesina Digital Art Experience, a travelling exhibition promoted by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Bright Festival. In December, a number of cities including Brussels, Madrid and Buenos Aires will be projecting light art displays created by 14 digital art studios offering different interpretations of the same theme.

Three Lyon studios are involved in the project: Pixel Shapes, OOOPStudio, Kanaka Studio.

The Human Big Data

Artistic team: Pixel Shapes


> Do humans need humans?

Temple du Change

Temple du Change, Lyon 5

A la fin du XVème siècle, sous François Ier, Lyon devint la première place financière d'Europe. La douane se trouvait alors près du Pont du Change (démoli en 1842), à deux pas de la place du Change. Cette dernière, dans le quartier des Changeurs, était occupée par les marchands depuis le XIIIème siècle, aucun bâtiment officiel n'ayant été prévu pour les changeurs. C'est entre 1631 et 1653 que la première "Loge des Changes" fut construite, sur les plans de Simon Gourdet, pour le commerce et les monnayeurs.

En 1803, dans le cadre du Concordat et des articles organiques rétablissant les cultes en France, la Loge du Change fut confiée par la ville de Lyon à la communauté protestante de Lyon. C'est à cette date que l'ancienne Loge du Change devint, par arrêté préfectoral, le Temple du Change.

En décembre 1999, pour fêter le nouveau millénaire, la ville de Lyon et la Renaissance du Vieux Lyon ont mis à jour le désir de Soufflot de voir deux horloges couronner la façade. L'horloge de droite est familière aux passants, puisqu'elle est là depuis l'édification du bâtiment. C'est surtout le cadran de gauche qui surprend : pièce d'exception, cette horloge, dite "idéale", souhaitée par Soufflot mais jamais réalisée, marque les jours, les mois et les années.

Do humans need humans?


Mercredi 8, jeudi 9 : 19h-23h
Vendredi 10, samedi 11 : 20h-minuit

► Port du masque obligatoire à partir de 11 ans.


Cette exposition fait partie du projet international « Farnesina Digital Art Experience » promu par le Ministère italien des Affaires étrangères et le Bright Festival. Au mois de décembre, plusieurs villes (Bruxelles, Madrid, Buenos Aires…) en projetteront les œuvres réalisées par 14 studios d'art numérique réinterprétant le même thème.

A Lyon, 3 studios sont impliqués dans ce projet : Pixel Shapes, OOOPStudio, Kanaka Studio.

The Human Big Data

Equipe artistique : Pixel Shapes


> Do humans need humans?