5

Do humans need humans?

Do humans need humans? (2021)

This is part of the Farnesina Digital Art Experience, a travelling exhibition promoted by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Bright Festival. In December, a number of cities including Brussels, Madrid and Buenos Aires will be projecting light art displays created by 14 digital art studios offering different interpretations of the same theme.

Three Lyon studios are involved in the project: Pixel Shapes, OOOPStudio, Kanaka Studio.

The Human Big Data

Artistic team: Pixel Shapes

Artists: Giovanni Mezzasalma, Simone Scarpello, Andrea Campo, Andrea Criscione.

Description of the project
The futuristic images projected on the façade of the Temple du Change refer to Big Data, the huge volume of data analysed using artificial intelligence which represents a major turning point in terms of scientific and technological progress.

Artistic intent
This work reflects upon the social benefits and the potential for advancement big data and artificial intelligence can bring whilst warning of the threat it is liable to present to society and the arts.


DEPENDENCE

Artistic team: Kanaka Studio

Artist: Andrea Maioli

In ten tableaux, this installation exposes how we have become slaves to technology in our digital age.  Instead of being the means to an end - a better life - technology has become an end unto itself. At the same time, we are reminded that we all have a subconscious need for affection and physical contact.

Artistic intent
The artist combined different visual techniques such as drawing, 3D modelling and data-driven generative modelling.


Belonging [of Shadows]

Artistic team: OOOPStudio

Artists: Alessandro Grisendi and Marco Noviello

The installation
Different identities shape our multifaceted sense of being. We all share the same roots; we belong to a human race which survives and thrives thanks to relationships with others. Our digital world is helping break down barriers between people, bringing us closer together and wiping out inequality. Mankind is in perpetual motion as we can see on the screen from the eyes, hands and mouths of people with different identities, artworks which keep the individual alive, bodies which are preserved for eternity. Belonging [of Shadows] expresses both the aspiration - change - and the destination for the new generations who will open up new possibilities for living together, overturning convention.

Artistic intent
The images are the result of a multi sensory inspiration, evoking the processes leading to the birth of the human being, the hero of the entire story. The transformations of the material projected shape this sense of becoming.

________

With the support of: The Italian Cultural Institute of Lyon, Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, The Bright Festival

Time

Wednesday 8, Thursday 9: 7 p.m.-11 p.m.
Friday 10, Saturday 11: 8 p.m.-midnight

► Masks mandatory for adults and children over 11.


Art installation featuring in the following selection(s):

Do humans need humans?

Do humans need humans? (2021)

Cette exposition fait partie du projet international « Farnesina Digital Art Experience » promu par le Ministère italien des Affaires étrangères et le Bright Festival. Au mois de décembre, plusieurs villes (Bruxelles, Madrid, Buenos Aires…) en projetteront les œuvres réalisées par 14 studios d'art numérique réinterprétant le même thème.

A Lyon, 3 studios sont impliqués dans ce projet : Pixel Shapes, OOOPStudio, Kanaka Studio.

The Human Big Data

Equipe artistique : Pixel Shapes

Artistes : Giovanni Mezzasalma, Simone Scarpello, Andrea Campo, Andrea Criscione.

Description du projet
Les images futuristes projetées sur la façade du Temple du Change évoquent le Big Data, cette énorme masse de données analysées au moyen de l’intelligence artificielle, et dont l’exploitation représente un tournant majeur pour le progrès scientifique et technologique.

Intention artistique
Cette œuvre interpelle sur le bien-être et le développement que la big data et l’intelligence artificielle peuvent apporter à la société, mais alerte également sur les risques de dérives sociales et culturelles que celles-ci sont susceptibles d’entraîner .


DEPENDENCE

Equipe artistique : Kanaka Studio

Artiste : Andrea Maioli

En 10 tableaux, cette œuvre dénonce la forte dépendance que nous avons développé vis-à-vis de la technologie à l’ère du numérique, au point d’en devenir les esclaves.  Celles-ci sont devenues la fin et non plus le moyen d’améliorer nos vies et notre société. Pour autant, elle nous rappelle que de manière inconsciente, nous porterons toujours en nous ce besoin d’affection, de contact physique avec les autres

Intention artistique
Pour concevoir Dependence, l’artiste a associé différentes techniques visuelles comme le dessin, la modélisation 3D, ainsi que la modélisation générative utilisant l’analyse de données.


Belonging [of Shadows]

Equipe artistique : OOOPStudio

Artistes : Alessandro Grisendi et Marco Noviello

Oeuvre
Les différentes nuances et identités composent des facettes d'un seul sens, celui de l'être. Les personnes appartiennent à une même et unique souche, la racine humaine qui vit et se perpétue grâce à la relation avec les autres. L'ère numérique permet de briser les frontières, de se rapprocher, d'aplanir les inégalités. C’est une humanité toujours en mouvement qui prend forme à l’écran, représentée par des yeux, mains et bouches de personnes aux identités différentes, des œuvres d’arts qui ne font que perpétuer des individus, des corps qui restent au fil du temps. Belonging [of Shadows] est à la fois un besoin d'évolution et un point d'arrivée pour les nouvelles générations qui élargiront les possibilités de la vie en commun, en dépassant les stéréotypes.

Intention artistique
Les images sont le résultat d'une inspiration multisensorielle, évoquant les processus qui mènent à la naissance de l'être humain, véritable protagoniste de toute l'histoire. Le sens du devenir est lié aux transformations de la matière projetée.

________

Avec le soutien de : Institut Culturel italien de Lyon, Ministère Italien des Affaires Etrangères et de la Coopération Internationale, Bright Festival

Horaires

Mercredi 8, jeudi 9 : 19h-23h
Vendredi 10, samedi 11 : 20h-minuit

► Port du masque obligatoire à partir de 11 ans.


Œuvre présente dans les sélections :