Rémi Brun

As a bio-mechanical engineer and sports enthusiast, Rémi Brun has taken a keen interest in movement, which he considers worthy of exploration in its own right, just like sound, for example. He is the founder and director of Mocaplab, an experimental laboratory focusing on motion capture. Fascinated by the beauty of motion, he seeks to convey this in his "sculptures", which give substance to the movements he has captured.

Rémi uses light to enhance movement, as could be seen in The Footballers, presented at last year's Festival of Lights to coincide with the UEFA Euro 2016.

www.motion-in-blue.com


By the same artist

Rugby Pass Path (2017)

Will you be able to recognise the famous rugby player captured making a three-quarter pass in full motion? Step into the match and admire the beauty of the movement, as well as the energy and power emanating, all depicted by strokes of light. What's amazing is how the trajectory of just a few points of moving light manage to sketch this sculpture and create such an easily recognisable shape! Let the magic take hold…

So, did you recognise the famous halfback?

 "Rugby Pass Path" pays homage to Lyon hosting the two TOP 14 rugby semifinals on May 25 and 26, 2018.


Funded by Serfim

Les Footballeurs (2016)

Forget what you know about football. Forget about materiality and physicality, and plunge into a match where players and ball are made of light, a moving light that pays tribute to the beauty of sports. But don't look for a seat in the bleachers! As both spectator and referee, you'll find yourself right in the middle of the action!

Rémi Brun

Ingénieur en biomécanique et sportif, Rémi Brun s’est très tôt passionné pour le mouvement qu’il considère comme un domaine d’exploration à part entière, au même titre que le son par exemple. Il est le dirigeant-fondateur de Mocaplab, laboratoire d’expérimentation autour de la technique de motion capture. Fasciné par la beauté du geste, il cherche à le retranscrire dans ses « sculptures » qui donnent corps aux mouvements qu’il a capturés.

Il utilise la lumière afin de mettre en valeur le mouvement, comme cela a été le cas pour ses Footballeurs, présentés lors de l’édition précédente de la Fête des Lumières en résonnance avec l’UEFA Euro 2016.

www.motion-in-blue.com


Toutes les oeuvres

Rugby Pass Path (2017)

Reconnaîtrez-vous le célèbre joueur de rugby pris sur le vif en train de faire une passe de trois-quarts en pleine course ? Immergez-vous dans le match et admirez la beauté du geste, ainsi que l’énergie et la puissance qui en émanent, retranscrites à grands traits de lumière. Phénomène étonnant : la trajectoire de quelques points lumineux en mouvement suffit à esquisser cette sculpture éphémère de lumière et à dessiner une silhouette reconnaissable entre mille ! Laissez la magie opérer.

Alors avez-vous reconnu ce célèbre demi d’ouverture ?

 

«Rugby Pass Path» fait écho à l’organisation à Lyon des deux demi-finales du TOP 14 les 25 et 26 mai 2018.


Avec le soutien de Serfim

Les Footballeurs (2016)

Oubliez votre vision du football. Oubliez la matière, le physique, et plongez dans un match où les joueurs et le ballon ne sont que lumière. Une lumière en mouvement, qui rend hommage à la beauté du geste sportif. Mais ne cherchez pas les tribunes : à la fois spectateur et arbitre, vous êtes en plein cœur de l’action !