Erik Barray

In 1978, after studying at the Fayl-Billot school of basket-weaving, Erik Barray founded a studio devoted to creating wickerwork in public places. His land-art style creations are spectacular and in 1993, he was commissioned by Louis Vuitton to decorate its 150 stores. The delicate nature of this ancestral art enables this sculptor of reeds to create work that plays with landscapes. In August 2018, having spent time with Quichua Indians, the eco-designer subverted the traditional materials and techniques of Ecuador to create Nido de Luz for the Quito Festival of Lights. This was the inspiration for Lucioles and Lianes in 2019.

► www.atelier-erik-barray.com


By the same artist

Lucioles (2019)

Banks of the Rhône, Lyon 3, Lyon 6

Erik Barray offers visitors a kilometre-long stroll along the left bank of the river starting at Pont Morand. Glow-in-the-dark insects flit along the plane-tree lined avenue. Swarms of bugs in the branches of the trees generate a warm orange light flickering like the delicate flame of hundreds of candles. Down on the banks of the river, beneath the Pont de Lattre de Tassigny, the tunnel has been colonised by dozens of strange illuminated creatures. As the visitors wander along, they come across delightful illuminated cocoons opening up to release a myriad of multicoloured butterflies. The stroll ends near Pont Churchill, culminating in a flight of sparkling fireflies against a backdrop of blue greenery, seeming to point the visitor in the direction of the Parc de la Tête d’Or.

Lianes (2019)

This installation illuminated the Montée du Gourguillon in 2018. A year later, the plants have grown, taking over even more of the stone walls of this winding street. Once past Place de la Trinité, nature takes back what is rightfully hers, muscling her way into every nook and cranny in a tangle of creepers and transforming the street into a Lewis Carroll-type Wonderland. Ivy runs along the stone walls throwing light upon the time old stones.  Delicate, illuminated flowers peak out from amongst the interwoven plants exuding an unreal atmosphere.  This poetic nature trail is interrupted by an overhanging tree glittering in the night.

Lianes (2018)

Erik Barray has designed a nature trail on Montée du Gourguillon sprinkled with five plant-themed stops. Once past Place de la Trinité, nature takes back what is rightfully hers, as trees and plants climb the high walls, transforming the venue into a Lewis Carroll-type fantasy world. Nature muscles her way into every crook and cranny in a tangle of creepers, while ivy runs along the stone walls like curtains of gleaming greenery. Delicate, illuminated flowers punctuate these natural arrangements that exude a surreal atmosphere. Turning and twisting, the plants play with the light as it reflects off the stones. At the top of the hill, on Rue des Farges, this immersive, poetic stroll is broken up by an overhanging tree decked with nests of magical lights.

Éphémères (2017)

Whatever happened? The inner courtyard of City Hall has been overrun by vegetation, like the sacred Inca sites or the temple of Angkor Wat.  Nature has reclaimed the spot with wickerwork creepers pulsating with light staking their claim to the building. The walls and fountain are covered in glowing ivy and bindweed. All around flutter short-lived mayflies; they seem to fly as high as the dome of the Opera, but it’s just an illusion. Let yourself be captivated by this poetic installation in the courtyard of City Hall, exceptionally open to the public during the Festival of Lights

Access only via place des Terreaux

Arboré'lum (2016)

Plants take over the mineral world. Invaded by luminous creepers and giant weeds the grass platform becomes, as you watch, a field, an island or a garden. All around, clumps of lighted rushes invite contemplation. In sound and light, sap reproduces the cycle of the seasons and brings these urban plants to life, reminding you of the very essence of living things. 

Visual and graphic artist: Richard le Guezennec 
Lighting designer: Manu Théry 

Technical support: Ets J.Corne et Cie, Jean-Luc Guichard, Les Pilons Post Production Sonore and Capsa Container.

Lumi’lierre (2014)

Banks of the Rhône, Lyon 3, Lyon 6

In the darkness, over a hundred incandescent colored flowers shine. Their stems climb and twist around trees like wisteria vines and accompany your peaceful stroll along the river.

From Churchill Bridge to Morand Bridge

Erik Barray

Après l’école de vannerie de Fayl-Billot, Erik Barray fonde en 1978 un atelier dédié au travail du tressage dans l’espace public. Ses créations spectaculaires, proches du land-art, séduisent en 1993 Louis Vuitton pour la décoration des 150 boutiques du groupe. Grâce à la délicatesse de cet art ancestral, ce sculpteur végétal joue sur les paysages. En août 2018, après une résidence avec les indiens Quichuas, l’éco-designer détourne matériaux et techniques traditionnelles d’Équateur pour la création de Nido de Luz à la Fiesta de la Luz  de Quito. Une œuvre qui inspire lucioles et Lianes présentées en 2019.

► www.atelier-erik-barray.com

 


Toutes les oeuvres

"Lucioles" (2019)

Berges du Rhône, Lyon 3, Lyon 6

Rive gauche, en remontant le fleuve depuis le pont Morand, Erik Barray propose une promenade poétique d’un kilomètre. Sur l’allée bordée de platanes, des insectes lumineux et éphémères investissent l’espace. Des essaims blottis contre les branches des arbres font vaciller leur douce lueur orangée telle la flamme délicate de centaines de bougies. En descendant sur les berges, sous le pont de Lattre de Tassigny, des dizaines de surprenantes créatures lumineuses ont envahi le tunnel. La balade se poursuit pour faire découvrir au promeneur de formidables cocons lumineux d’où s’envolent des myriades de papillons multicolores. Aux abords du pont Churchill, cette balade s’achève par une échappée de lucioles étincelantes sur un fond de végétation bleutée, semblant indiquer au visiteur la direction du parc de la Tête d’Or…

 

Lianes (2019)

Lianes a déjà illuminé la Montée du Gourguillon en 2018. Un an plus tard, la nature a essaimé, poussé et envahit un peu plus les murs de la ruelle escarpée. Au-delà de la place de la Trinité, la nature a repris ses droits. Dans un enchevêtrement de lianes, la nature s’immisce dans les interstices et transforme les lieux en univers fantastique digne d’un conte de Lewis Carroll. Le lierre étincelant ruisselle le long des parois minérales et joue de sa lumière sur les pierres séculaires. Au cœur de cet entrelacs végétal, des fleurs rayonnantes accentuent, çà et là, l’atmosphère irréelle. Ponctuant cette balade poétique, un arbre en surplomb scintille dans la nuit.

Lianes (2018)

Montée du Gourguillon, Erik Barray a imaginé un parcours que jalonnent cinq escales végétales. Passé la place de la Trinité, la nature reprend ses droits. La végétation envahit le haut des murs et transforme les lieux en un univers fantastique semblable à ceux de Lewis Carroll. Dans un enchevêtrement de lianes, la nature s’immisce dans les interstices. Tels des rideaux de végétation scintillants, le lierre ruisselle le long des parois minérales. De délicates fleurs lumineuses ponctuent ces compositions naturelles qui distillent une atmosphère irréelle. Cet entrelacs végétal joue de sa lumière sur les pierres. En haut de la côte, pour ponctuer cette balade immersive et poétique, un arbre en surplomb, rue des Farges, accueille de féériques nids de lumière.

Éphémères (2017)

Hôtel de Ville, Lyon 1

Que s’est-il passé ? La cour d’honneur de l’Hôtel de Ville, à l’instar des anciens temples incas, ou de ceux d’Angkor, a été colonisée par des végétaux. La nature reprenant ses droits, des osiers tressés, vibrant en lumière, grimpent à l’assaut du minéral. Des lierres et des liserons lumineux ont envahi les murs et la fontaine. Autour d’elle, tourbillonnent des éphémères, ces papillons qui ne vivent que quelques heures : par un jeu de trompe-l’œil, ils semblent s’élever jusqu’à la coupole de l’Opéra. Entrez dans cet univers poétique et contemplez cette installation dans la cour de l’Hôtel de Ville, ouverte au public à l’occasion de la Fête des Lumières.

Accès uniquement par la place des Terreaux

Arboré'lum (2016)

Quand le végétal reprend ses droits sur le minéral… Envahie par un bosquet de lianes lumineuses et d’herbes géantes au milieu de son terre-plein, sous vos yeux la place devient forêt, devient champ, devient île ou jardin. Bordée par des haies de joncs lumineux, la place vous invite à la contemplation. En lumière et en son, la sève reproduit le cycle des saisons et donne vie à ces végétaux urbains qui vous ramènent à l’essence même du vivant.

Plasticien – graphiste : Richard le Guezennec 
Concepteur lumière : Manu Théry 

Lumi’lierre (2014)

Berges du Rhône, Lyon 3, Lyon 6

Brillant dans la pénombre, plus de 100 fleurs incandescentes et colorées, dont les lianes montent et s’enroulent autour des arbres, telles des glycines, accompagnent votre parcours apaisé au bord du fleuve.

Du Pont Churchill au Pont Morand