Paul Cocksedge

Paul Cocksedge Studio is a Londoner Designer, specialist of the object reuse. He and Joana Pihno have created Paul Cocksedge Sudio, a workshop worldwide recognized which designs installations, public art pieces, decorations by exploring the limits of technologies in order to create unique experiences.

Paul Cocksedge Studio creates especially the installations « Crystallize » et « Veil » for the jeweller Swarowski, « 3 Kiss Milan » for the city of Milan, « Sestosenso » for BMW and also realises the window of the association Wellcome Trust’s headquarter. The workshop has been nominated and rewarded several times: The Design Museum’s Designer (2004), the Design of the year by the Brit Insurance (2008) and the Grand Designs Award Best lighting design (2009).

Former editions of the Fête des Lumières:
2011 : « Gust » - Hôtel de Ville (Lyon 1)


By the same artist

Gust (2011)

Like an escapee from the Town Hall archives, a ream of paper is dispersed into the night. Each of the 200 sheets rises delicately towards the sky, light and glittering, magnifying the ambient architecture. Attending Lyon for the first time, this London designer, a specialist in the corruption of objects, presents a creative and technological feat of rare sensitivity.

Paul Cocksedge

Paul Cocksedge est un designer londonien, spécialiste du détournement d’objets. Il s’est associé à Joana Pihno afin de fonder Paul Cocksedge Studio, un atelier reconnu dans le monde entier, qui conçoit des installations, des pièces d’art public et des objets d’intérieur en explorant les limites de la technologie afin de créer des expériences uniques.

Paul Cocksedge Studio crée notamment les installations « Crystallize » et « Veil » pour le joaillier Swarowski, « 3 Kiss Milan » pour la Ville de Milan, « Sestosenso » pour BMW et réalise également la vitrine du siège de l’association Wellcome Trust à Londres. L’atelier a été nominé et récompensé pour de nombreuses distinctions parmi lesquelles le Design Museum’s Designer (2004), le design de l’année par le Brit Insurance (2008) et le Grand Designs Award Best lighting design (2009).

Il participe pour la première fois à la Fête des Lumières en 2011 avec « Bourrasque », une échappée de feuilles de papier lumineuses depuis les archives de l’Hôtel de Ville (Lyon 1er).


Toutes les oeuvres

Bourrasque (2011)

Hôtel de Ville, Lyon 1

Pour sa première participation à la Fête des Lumières, cet atelier de design britannique à la renommée mondiale, fixe le temps dans l’espace clos de la cour de l’Hôtel de Ville. Comme échappée des archives de l’Hôtel de Ville, une rame de papier se fige dans la nuit. Chacune des 200 feuilles s’élève avec délicatesse vers le ciel, légère et étincelante, magnifiant l’architecture ambiante.