Mr.Beam

Mr.Beam is a Dutch design studio comprising nine artists, musicians, videomakers, designers and experts in animation and mapping. The studio is recognised within the profession for its advertising films, but has also forged an international reputation over the past nine years for its designs for events and its light installations. Its brightly-coloured sets featured in celebrations to mark the 75th anniversary of Hewlett-Packard in Las Vegas, as well as the 500th anniversary in 2016 of the birth of painter Jerome Bosch in the Netherlands. In 2017, their first contribution to the Festival of Lights, entitled Insert Coin and displayed in Place Antonin Poncet, proved highly popular with the public!

https://mrbeam.com/


By the same artist

Keys of Light (2018)

In the gardens of the Fine Arts Museum, a piano stands proudly next to the fountain. Keys of Light is an interactive installation which uses a combination of algorithms to project a light show on the façade and gardens every time a key is pressed. The show changes every evening depending on the melody chosen. The abstract patterns reveal the architectural splendour of the building, and highlight statues and trees. The pianist, emboldened to further explore the shared harmony between music, light and architecture, composes his own score and brings the musical notes to life/light.

Insert Coin (2017)

Follow the adventures of two children – and their dog -  on the facade of the Main Post Office and clocktower on place Antonin Poncet. While they are trying to repair an abandoned arcade machine, they are dragged into a world inhabited by video game characters. They narrowly escape being gobbled up by Pacman® ghosts, get caught up in Tekken® fights and have to dodge Galaga® spacecraft missiles. How will they get out of there?  A fast-paced show which is a real blast from the past.

Mr.Beam

Mr. Beam est un studio de création hollandais, composé de neuf artistes, musiciens, vidéastes, designers ou experts en animation et mapping. Reconnu dans la profession pour ses films publicitaires, le studio s’est également forgé, en neuf années, une réputation internationale, grâce à ses créations évènementielles et ses installations lumière. Ses scénographies, identifiables par ses couleurs éclatantes, ont notamment marqué le 75e anniversaire de Hewlett Packard à Las Vegas ou le 500e anniversaire de la naissance du peintre Jérôme Bosch en 2016 aux Pays-Bas. En 2017, Insert Coin, leur première participation à la Fête des Lumières, place Antonin Poncet, a remporté un joli succès !

https://mrbeam.com/


Toutes les oeuvres

Keys of Light (2018)

Dans le jardin du musée des Beaux-arts, un piano trône à côté de la fontaine. Keys of light (touches de lumière) est une installation interactive où grâce à une combinaison d’algorithmes, chaque touche du clavier déclenche la projection d’une composition lumineuse sur les façades de l’édifice et de la végétation. Chaque soir, des pianistes jouent différentes partitions, faisant évoluer le spectacle selon les morceaux interprétés. Les détails architecturaux, les arbres et les statues sont ainsi valorisés par la projection de motifs abstraits. Sous ses doigts, le pianiste, mis au défi d'explorer plus encore l’harmonie entre mélodie, animation et architecture, crée sa propre histoire et donne corps et lumière aux notes de musique.

Insert Coin (2017)

Suivez les aventures de deux enfants, escortés de leur chien, sur la façade de la Grande Poste et le clocher de la place Antonin Poncet. Alors qu’ils remettent en marche une borne d’arcade Galaga® abandonnée, ils sont soudain happés dans un univers peuplé de personnages de jeux. Ils manquent de se faire dévorer par les fantômes de PAC-MAN®, sont entrainés dans des combats à la Tekken® et plongent dans le sombre univers de Little Nightmares®. Comment réussiront-ils à se sortir de cette mauvaise passe ? Retrouvez la magie des jeux vidéo dans ce spectacle ludique au rythme trépidant !