Place Bellecour

Place Bellecour, Lyon 2

Place Bellecour (62,000 sq.m.) is not only Lyon’s biggest square, it is the largest pedestrian square in Europe. The imposing statue in the centre depicts Louis XIV astride a horse.  A more recent statue pays tribute to Antoine de Saint-Exupéry and the Little Prince. Both monuments are a source of inspiration for artists creating light shows for the Festival.

Louis XIV gave his permission for the city to purchase the land in 1658 on one condition – that the square should be a public space unencumbered by buildings. The monumental façades – one on the Rhône side and the other on the Saône - were the work of architect Robert de Cotte but they did not stand for long; they were torn down following the Revolution in 1793 due to their association with the local aristocracy. Napoléon Bonaparte had them rebuilt to a virtually identical model with the first stone being laid in 1800.

The statue in the middle of the square shows Louis XIV as a Roman emperor, symbolising royal power over the city. The first statue dating from 1713 was melted down to build canons during the Revolution. The version we can see today, carved by François Frédéric Lemot, boasts the original pedestal dating from 1825 decorated with allegories of the Rhône (the man) and the Saône (the woman). The renovation completed in 2010 returned the square to its former glory mimicking its original 17th century layout with its shady tree-lined promenades.

Source: Lyon History Museum - Musées Gadagne

TOWER


Thursday 5 and Sunday 8 from 7 pm to 11 pm 
Friday 6 and Saturday 7 from 8 pm to midnight


TOWER is a three-part artistic signage project designed to welcome the public and help them find their way around the city. From a distance, five glowing horizontal bars – encircling the tower at regular intervals – seem to float in the air as though in zero gravity. When the visitors get closer, they get a better view of the signs adorning the luminous totem. The aerial and futuristic aesthetic of these tall rectangular structures is inspired by the Deconstructivist architectural style.
> TOWER

Prairie éphémère


Thursday 5 and Sunday 8 from 7 pm to 11 pm
Friday 6 and Saturday 7 from 8 pm to midnight


Around the foot of the statue of Louis XIV, Place Bellecour is transformed into a vast illuminated meadow.  Strange flying creatures – the Luminéoles – inhabit a field planted with 500 pampas grasses. These 4-metre tall glowing plants reflect the light, creating a veritable tableau vivant, first a wild meadow then a bizarre ocean. The grasses and birds interact in a colourful dance. No bigger than ants in this oversized natural world, the spectators gaze upwards in fascination.


> Prairie éphémère

Location

Place Bellecour

Place Bellecour, Lyon 2

Avec ses 62 000 m², la place Bellecour est la plus grande place de Lyon et la plus grande place piétonne d’Europe. En son centre se trouve une statue équestre de Louis XIV, une autre représentant le Petit Prince et Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. Celles-ci sont souvent source de l’inspiration des artistes de la Fête des Lumières.

Louis XIV, en 1658, favorise l’achat du terrain par la Ville à condition qu’elle demeure une place publique, sans édifice. L’architecte Robert de Cotte conçoit les premières façades monumentales qui la borderont côté Rhône et Saône. Symboles de l’aristocratie lyonnaise, elles sont détruites suite à la Révolution, en 1793. Napoléon Bonaparte décide leur reconstruction, presqu’à l’identique, et pose la première pierre en 1800.

Au centre de la place s’élève la statue équestre de Louis XIV représentant le roi en empereur romain. Elle symbolise le pouvoir royal sur la ville. La première statue de 1713, fondue pour faire des canons à la Révolution, est remplacée par celle de François Frédéric Lemot en 1825. La statue équestre repose sur le piédestal d’origine orné de deux allégories réalisées par Guillaume et Nicolas Coustou, représentant le Rhône (homme) et la Saône (femme). Le réaménagement, achevé en 2010, redonne à la place son ordonnancement du 17e siècle et ses promenades ombragées de tilleuls.

Source : Musée d'histoire de Lyon - Musées Gadagne

TOWER


Jeudi 5 et dimanche 8 de 19h à 23h
Vendredi 6 et samedi 7 de 20h à minuit


TOWER est un projet signalétique artistique en trois pièces dont la vocation est d’accueillir et d’orienter le public dans la ville. De loin, encerclant la tour à intervalles réguliers, cinq barres horizontales incandescentes semblent flotter dans les airs comme en apesanteur. En se rapprochant, le public distingue les bâches de signalétique disposées çà et là ornant le totem lumineux. L’esthétique aérienne et futuriste de ces hautes structures rectangulaires s’inspire du courant architectural déconstructiviste.
> TOWER

Prairie éphémère


Jeudi 5 et dimanche 8 de 19h à 23h
Vendredi 6 et samedi 7 de 20h à minuit


Au pied de Louis XIV, 500 pampas transforment la place Bellecour en prairie lumineuse, d’où surgissent d’improbables créatures volantes. Ces plantes rayonnantes de 4 mètres de haut participent à la création de tableaux vivants aux reflets changeants qui transforment les lieux, tantôt en prairie sauvage, tantôt en océan fantastique. Pampas et Luminéoles aériennes se répondent en mouvement et couleurs. Réduit un instant à la taille d’une fourmi, le spectateur se voit offrir une plongée spectaculaire dans un monde végétal monumental.
> Prairie éphémère

Localisation